FC running as a service

Discussion in 'FileChecker & ID-Blaster Forum' started by pin, Nov 4, 2002.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. pin

pin Registered Member

hi! i'm new to the bbs!

file checker is an interesting and useful program, but i have a question:

i chose to run file checker as a service, and when i go into the services list, i can see it. the service is listed as automatic. however, it says it's not started. is this correct? does the service start only when a change is detected? or should it be on all the time?

i'm using version 1.7.1.

=)

2. Paul Wilders

Paul Wilders Administrator

Welcome, pin!

As you've might noticed, the author will not be around for a couple of days. Be assured he will address your question as soon as he has returned ;).

regards.

paul

3. pin

pin Registered Member

yeah i noticed, i just wanted to post before i forgot!

=)

4. Paul Wilders

Paul Wilders Administrator

That's a good reason for sure ;)

regards,

paul

5. javacool

javacool BrightFort Moderator

My apologies for the late reply.

The service should be on all of the time. If you cannot see an icon in the system tray, and you do not see a process with "filechecker" in its name (on the process list in Windows 2000 and XP) then it is probably not running. :doubt: In that case, try manually running FileChecker, select the "Un-register Service" menu option, and then re-register it as a service (using the Install as Service menu option).

Please let me know if the above does not work. :)

Regards,

-Javacool

6. Feivel

Feivel Registered Member

I tried this and it didn't make any difference. What service (or services) does FC depend on that might be disabled on some computers? Just a small probably incorrect guess on my part :)

7. pin

pin Registered Member

well i did it and checked the service. it didn't start, so i started the service manually.

i'm going to reboot and see if filechecker starts.