extract files from a .tib that won't mount; will pay

Discussion in 'backup, imaging & disk mgmt' started by saddy, Feb 6, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. saddy

saddy Registered Member

i have a recent mishap with a backup, and i'd pay for a solution. but as a student, i hope the solution is a freely available one – but my offer still stands.

please take a look at this thread.

appreciate all the expert help i can get..

2. pandlouk

pandlouk Registered Member

Have you performed a disk check (CHKDSK) on the partition/drive where your .tib back up was created?

Panagiotis

3. chris2busy

chris2busy Registered Member

Well...i am gonna suggest something more "intuitive" than the others in your previous threads...vmware supports virtual machine import also from acronis true image backup files..download a free trial of vmware and go :
    file>import or export> in source type drop down box select "other" and then browse and find the .tib you want to give a try...if this operation is successfull you will have the image restored to a nice virtual environment..all you then have to do is install vmware tools in the virtual machine ( VM>install vmware tools) and then you can get your data to your normal hard drive with a simple copy>paste...hell you can even re-image the whole OS from within the virtual environment if successfull...a little timetaking but could be well worth the shot :)
    Cheers !

4. saddy

saddy Registered Member

i'm currently doing data recovery on the hard disks that ever held the files i have lost to the tib. after that, i'll definitely give your suggestion a try.

one question: the tib file is not an image of a partition, but rather, it was created with TI by selecting the "my data" method (selecting folders i wanted to back up). would vmware still be able to import it since it's not a partition image?

5. chris2busy