extendia problem

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by waters, Nov 1, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. waters

waters Guest

hi hope someone can help.
    been useing single engine version for 2 days.i am very impressed with it apart from it slowing down my computer. this is most noticeable when i open internet explorer ,takeing about 6 sec to load. i have searched the net and found some advice that has solved the problem but was wondering if i have comprimised my security .
    in monitor options i have gone into exceptions and added program files from c;directry also i have unchecked ,check packed files.
    after following this advise i see no system slowdown, but am i still secure.
    i have an athlon 2400 and 512 ram .
    meant to have gold support but no reply to e mails.
    have used kav in the past with no system slowdown

2. Honyak

Honyak Registered Member

To Waters,
    I am a user of AVK Pro and exclude c:\proram files also. My understanding is viru
    does not normally reside in this folder, but to insure against this, I run a scheduled scan daily of this folder and others. This can be scheduled to run while you sleep etc.
    Extendia tech support is pathetic at best and replies to e-mails are worse. When they do reply, it is something like you would find in a trouble shooting guide.
    Very good AV, and good price but lousy support. When my subscription ends I will not be renewing.
    Check out MKS. Very good AV lite on resources and 2005 is about to come out.
    I am using it now on my main box and love it.

3. Infinity

Infinity Registered Member

I sincerelly hope you will not get into any probs here... there are a lot of other things you can do just to speed things up: disable like 50 % of all background processes our OS doesn't need and it won't slow things down.