ewido

Discussion in 'other anti-trojan software' started by JayTee, Nov 22, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. JayTee

JayTee Registered Member

read somewhere that ewido has the best unpacker. Is this still true? How does TDS-3's unpacking capabilities compare to ewido. Thanks

2. Edwin024

Edwin024 Registered Member

I am testing both and so far Ewido wins clearly.

3. Notok

Notok Registered Member

Care to elaborate?

4. Edwin024

Might do that in the future, but that's not possible now. I am a journalist and trying to sell an article first :)

5. Andreas1

Andreas1 Security Expert

I can at least tell you how it's working in tds-3:
    tds-3's unpacking is generic, although somewhat "manually". TDS has an interface for unpacking plugins. It scans a file, and if it finds pattern XY, it sends the file through program YZ and then scans the result. A few of those plugins come preconfigured with TDS, and you are free to add your own - but then you'll have to find a reliable unpacker (YZ) for your packed file format of choice and figure out what should be used as a "signature" to trigger this unpacking (XY). (To find unpackers would probably require going to some more or less malware site - sites that at least definitely are against TOS to post a link to here.)
    On the TDS licenced user's private forum, there has been a thread about some XY's and their corresponding YZ's, but it has been some time since - and when it comes to crypters instead of packers, it mostly doesn't work (since you won't find reliable uncrypting programs).