ET phoning home!

Discussion in 'other security issues & news' started by allenz, Dec 21, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. allenz

allenz Registered Member

Hello
    This is my first time here so I don't know if this is the right forum to post this in or not.

I have 2 computers networked together as I don't want my video editing computer on the internet anymore, after re-installing everything again.

Now I notice my hub is showing activity from my editing computer. There's none on my little computer when I'm not on the internet.

Those blinking indicator lights I think would tell me something is sending information from my computer without my knowledge or permission.

Does anyone know how I can track down this culprit and get rid of it? Or is there another forum somewhere that deals with generalities like this?

I have the same icons in my system tray on that computer that I have on my internet computer. But I shut down everything in the system tray, but I still see the indicatory lights flashing quite regurally.

Thanks for any help.
    Allen

2. Galcoolest

Galcoolest Registered Member

3. CrazyM

CrazyM Firewall Expert

Hi allenz

... and welcome to Wilders :)

A firewall would help determine what network connections are being established.

You could use something like Ethereal to see what network traffic is occurring on the system in question.

A port mapper is an alternative as well, will show processes, but may be limited to what traffic it can monitor:
    Vision
    Active Ports
    Port Explorer

Regards,

CrazyM

4. allenz

allenz Registered Member

HI and thanks to boh of you. First I used to have Zone Alarm Pro but now with my DSL line I have a hardware firewall. Don't know much about it except how to get to the page that controlls it.

I really liked Zone Alarm but I think I was told I had to get it out before instaling the hardware firewall. Maybe I should contact Zone Labs and ask them?