ESS 6 and Windows 8/Office 2013

Discussion in 'ESET Smart Security' started by xxJackxx, Feb 19, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. xxJackxx

xxJackxx Registered Member

It's that time of year again when my ESS license is about to run out. I am currently running Windows 8 64 bit and Office 2013 64 bit. I have been renewing ESS or NOD32 since 2005, but have hardly touched it in almost 3 years. It would be my preferred suite, but I have had repeated issues with it. Looking around this forum it does not look promising. Are these isolated incidents? Is there anyone using it with 64 bit Windows 8 and 64 bit Office 2013 and having no issues? If I let it expire it will cost more to renew later if I change my mind down the road.

Also, are there any parts of the suite that are not fully functional on a 64 bit OS? I have seen in the last few days that some other suites have several advertised features that do not function at all on a 64 bit OS.

2. I don't suppose there will be any major issues with 64bit OS, since it's already compatible with Windows 8 32bit.

you can always try the trial version before you proceed to renew the license.

3. xxJackxx

Agreed but I was hoping to see something positive from someone using it with the specified software before I went to the trouble of running a backup, removing current suite, installing ESS, and possibly rolling back.

4. well the best opinion is your own testing, since every software will react different on different machines.

5. xxJackxx

Ok, I threw it in a virtual machine and experienced some of the issues I have seen in other threads posted. Thanks for the replies, but I am giving up on it.

6. a virtual machine is not a perfect environment to test something like that

7. Marcos

Marcos Eset Staff Account

Do you mean issues with MS Outlook 2013? Which exactly?

8. xxJackxx