ESET Updating Issue

Discussion in 'ESET NOD32 Antivirus' started by Lloyd6770, Dec 9, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Lloyd6770

Lloyd6770 Registered Member

First off, I'm an ESET newbie, so be nice to me. :)

When trying to update ESET, I occasionally get an "Error Allocating Memory" error, and the update fails. I only seem to get this every now and then, but definitely not every single time. I have version 4.2.64.12 with virus signature database 5689.

Today, for the first time, I got an error saying, "Windows Defender and ESET NOD32 Anti-virus 4.2 both report that they are out of date."

Could Windows Defender somehow be conflicting with ESET, and could that be causing the occasional update issues?

Thanks for your help in advance.

2. djalminha

djalminha Registered Member

Open ESET Smart Security
    Option
    updates
    click on button "Clean memorydata" of updates
    Somethink like that.:doubt:

3. Woodgiant

Woodgiant Guest

4. rcash

rcash Registered Member

I have been having the same issue on several of our XP Pro SP3 fully patched computers as well and the following is also reported in the application event log when it occurs:

Faulting application egui.exe, version 4.2.67.10, faulting module egui.exe, version 4.2.67.10, fault address 0x000a4930.

5. tony_m

tony_m Eset Staff Account

See if the problem persists after manually uninstalling your ESET security product and reinstalling. Click here for step-by-step instructions.

6. Lloyd6770

I manually uninstalled/reinstalled ESET. If the machine reboots or does a clean install, it will successfully update once. After that, if I want to update it again, I must reboot it again, which is quite annoying considering 2-3 virus signature database updates come out per day. I also cleared the update cache or whatever it's called, and that didn't resolve the issue. I have opened a trouble ticket with ESET, and as of right now, I'm waiting.

7. Lloyd6770