ESET Smart Security 5 and PS3 Media server

Discussion in 'ESET Smart Security' started by Romulus1991, Apr 15, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Romulus1991
    Offline

    Romulus1991 Registered Member

    hi,
    for the hell of me i cant seem to get this to work at all

    when i leave Smart Security Firewall on my ps3 cannot be found on the Media server. but when i RESTART and THEN DISABLE FIREWALL, THEN OPEN PMS (ps3 media server) i can get it to work.


    Can someone PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE tell me how to fix this issue with ESET as there V4 product DID NOT HAVE THIS ISSUE..

    so pelase anyone with any input feel free to help me as it is really getting anoying and im thining of changing Products becoz of it.
  2. Cudni
    Offline

    Cudni Global Moderator

  3. Romulus1991
    Offline

    Romulus1991 Registered Member

    hey ive done this and it doesnt work for PS3 Media server
  4. Romulus1991
    Offline

    Romulus1991 Registered Member

    please is there someway i can put the program in there like Windows Firewall
  5. Cudni
    Offline

    Cudni Global Moderator

  6. Janus
    Offline

    Janus Registered Member

    Hey Romulus1991
    You can set your firewall in "Learning mode". for a while to see if it creates the necessary rules. Afterwards the Personal firewall should then be set to "Automatic mode with exceptions".
  7. Romulus1991
    Offline

    Romulus1991 Registered Member

    ok well im trying the first now and then ill go to learning if its a no go from there, wish me luck
  8. Romulus1991
    Offline

    Romulus1991 Registered Member

    ok so i changed it to Interactive and it 1 out of 100 times sees the ps3 on the program, but weneever i tell the ps3 to search for the media server it doesnt show, i then close and reopen my program and BAM it doesnt show the ps3 at all now...................... this firewall from ESET is starting to **** me,. im going to try learning mode now and see if i can fix it
  9. Romulus1991
    Offline

    Romulus1991 Registered Member

    learning mode still doesnt allow it to be streamed. even if i turn off the firewall within ESET SS 5 it STILL SOMEHOW BLOCKS PS3 media server.. i cant believe it i doesnt even work wen i disable the firewall, wen i delete the program everything is just fine.....


    i really hope there is a fix to this as its a little bit ridiculous
  10. Romulus1991
    Offline

    Romulus1991 Registered Member

    ok so i tried a multitude of things to try and get this to work. first off disabled windows firewall and try every combo with ESET 5 and still no go guys. hey im going to bed now but i will try ALL said fixes tomorow from you guys. Thanks heaps again :D
  11. Marcos
    Offline

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Did you add PS3's IP address to the Trusted zone?
  12. Romulus1991
    Offline

    Romulus1991 Registered Member

    yes the trusted zone has been made for all ip's on the network
  13. Romulus1991
    Offline

    Romulus1991 Registered Member

    any body else have any ideas??
  14. Marcos
    Offline

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Enable logging of blocked connections in the IDS setup, reproduce the problem and then paste the appropriate firewall log records here.
  15. Romulus1991
    Offline

    Romulus1991 Registered Member

    ok i will but right now guys im going to bed. thankyou for all of your help guys

    cyas tomrow
  16. Romulus1991
    Offline

    Romulus1991 Registered Member

    hey i just had another Brief read of what you said, could you please give me a step by step process on how the hell to do this please??
  17. Marcos
    Offline

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    You can enable logging of all blocked connections as per the instructions here.
  18. Romulus1991
    Offline

    Romulus1991 Registered Member

    hi this is the Log records for the firewall as asked

    what do i need to do to allow this program

    Attached Files:

  19. Romulus1991
    Offline

    Romulus1991 Registered Member

    i have added both th application and JRE v6 to the rules list and i still cannot get it to work..
  20. Romulus1991
    Offline

    Romulus1991 Registered Member

    thanks again for the help guys
  21. Romulus1991
    Offline

    Romulus1991 Registered Member

    well im going to bed now and i was hoping to get a reply for tomorows day start. thankyou once again
  22. Romulus1991
    Offline

    Romulus1991 Registered Member

    is anyone on this forum that can help me please.
  23. Romulus1991
    Offline

    Romulus1991 Registered Member

    using this guide i was able to make it work, but ps3 media server will not show my renderer (my ps3 or other pc in the home) so im not sure what that is.


    any other input guys>
  24. quake
    Offline

    quake Registered Member

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.