ESET NOD32 Antivirus 5 Download and Activation

Discussion in 'ESET NOD32 Antivirus' started by MongrelCat, Sep 13, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. MongrelCat

    MongrelCat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2010
    Posts:
    24
    Location:
    South Carolina
    The ESET Live Installer utility is annoying for multiple machines (have to redownload for each machine) and it does not allow protection to be installed before going "on-line". If this alone were not enough to drive a long time user such as myself away, the activation process fails to work even though the license is seen as valid until 2013. I am sad to see ESET go this direction. Indications are that a Serial Number or Activation Key is required to activate version 5, something not supplied with version 4. Other post indicate upgrades to the latest version are always free with a valid license, but I am not sure this is the case.

    All and all - way too much trouble.........
     
  2. ESS474

    ESS474 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Posts:
    201
    Location:
    S?o Paulo (Brazil)
    Yes, this live installer is a junk. i download offline installer in other website.:thumbd:
     
  3. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,330
    The Live Installer merely downloads the proper msi installer for your OS. There are several ways how to activate the program, one of them is by username and password received after purchase. If you want to install v5 on a few computers you have at home, you can download the msi installers directly from:

    EAV 32-bit:
    http://download.eset.com/download/win/eav/eav_nt32_enu.msi

    EAV 64-bit:
    http://download.eset.com/download/win/eav/eav_nt64_enu.msi

    ESS 32-bit:
    http://download.eset.com/download/win/ess/ess_nt32_enu.msi

    ESS 64-bit:
    http://download.eset.com/download/win/ess/ess_nt64_enu.msi
     
  4. toxinon12345

    toxinon12345 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    Posts:
    1,180
    Location:
    Managua, Nicaragua
    I dont know what you are talking about. I didnt see any "Live Installer" in the website. Could you elaborate more on this?
     
  5. MongrelCat

    MongrelCat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2010
    Posts:
    24
    Location:
    South Carolina
    Marcos, thanks for links, but I still have a problem activating with username and password. Will user and password from version 4 work or must I purchase version 5?
     
  6. MongrelCat

    MongrelCat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2010
    Posts:
    24
    Location:
    South Carolina
    Toxinon12345, at http://go.eset.com/us/download/home/detail/family/2 there is a note below ESET 5 download that says "You will be downloading ESET Live Installer utility which will guide you through the installation and activation of your ESET security product.", which is indeed the case.
     
  7. toxinon12345

    toxinon12345 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    Posts:
    1,180
    Location:
    Managua, Nicaragua
    Ah I downloaded the installer itself (54 MB). Not the download utility.
     
  8. toxinon12345

    toxinon12345 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    Posts:
    1,180
    Location:
    Managua, Nicaragua
    But if you bought a license then you should update the virus signature database. Is not your case?
     
  9. Trooper

    Trooper Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Posts:
    2,697
    I am also unable to activate the product. I opened up a support ticket, but have not heard back.

    EDIT: Just received this.

     
    Last edited: Sep 13, 2011
  10. MongrelCat

    MongrelCat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2010
    Posts:
    24
    Location:
    South Carolina
    Toxinon12345, virus signatures update, says license valid until 2013, but get big red warning stating not activated, limited protection.

    First attempt gives activation error message, subsequent attempts give no response (and does not activate).
     
  11. toxinon12345

    toxinon12345 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    Posts:
    1,180
    Location:
    Managua, Nicaragua
    maybe an error with your license.

    Have you contacted customer care?
    At least you are allowed to update.
     
  12. Trooper

    Trooper Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Posts:
    2,697
    See my edited post above folks.

    Cheers.
     
  13. MongrelCat

    MongrelCat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2010
    Posts:
    24
    Location:
    South Carolina
    Thanks Trooper!! I will try to maintain calm!!
     
  14. Trooper

    Trooper Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Posts:
    2,697
    You are welcome. Yeah man, stay cool. Eset will get this sorted.

    Cheers. :)
     
  15. Togg

    Togg Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2003
    Posts:
    177
    I upgraded my single computer a couple of hours ago by downloading v 5 and doubleclicking on the 48.8 MB .exe. On previous upgrades I'm pretty sure I was asked for my username and password on the download page before it could actually start. This time I wasn't, nor were they requested at any time during the installation process itself.

    The new installation (or perhaps it would be more correct to call it an 'overwrite' since I chose to keep existing settings) is up and running with Maximum protection enabled and the latest definitions (6461). Clicking on 'Product activation' shows my username and (presumably correct password) already filled in, carried over from v 4 I assume.

    Could it be that those of us with only one license are treated differently or should I expect problems in the future because I haven't had to activate?
     
  16. winchester73

    winchester73 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2006
    Posts:
    29
    Location:
    Somewhere along Tobacco Road, North Carolina
    I wonder if there is a difference between those who are installing over v4 versus those who are doing a clean install?
     
  17. toxinon12345

    toxinon12345 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    Posts:
    1,180
    Location:
    Managua, Nicaragua
    What you mean?
     
  18. Wallace

    Wallace Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2004
    Posts:
    34
    Location:
    South Manchester, UK.
    I too am having difficulties in activating v5 using the user name and password form v4. My license doesn't expire until September 2012.

    I un-installed v5 before installing v5 as I thought that's what you were supposed to do. Perhaps I should not!

    I have emailed support.
     
  19. Trooper

    Trooper Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Posts:
    2,697
    I posted above my reply from Eset support. Just sit tight and be patient.

    Cheers.
     
  20. MongrelCat

    MongrelCat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2010
    Posts:
    24
    Location:
    South Carolina
    I have a three copy license and uninstalled version 4 before installing 5. There could be something to "overwrite" install working and clean install not working.

    Nonetheless, I'll wait a day or two per Trooper's post - perhaps good things will happen.
     
  21. pav2pav

    pav2pav Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2011
    Posts:
    7
    Thanks for the info from ESET....feel better now.
     
  22. Coccinelle

    Coccinelle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2011
    Posts:
    211
    Location:
    France
  23. piranha

    piranha Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2005
    Posts:
    623
    Location:
    Laval, Qu?bec, Canada
  24. BonskY

    BonskY Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2011
    Posts:
    69
    Location:
    Longueuil, Canada
  25. piranha

    piranha Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2005
    Posts:
    623
    Location:
    Laval, Qu?bec, Canada
    it can help.... :rolleyes: ;) :D
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.