ESET Firewall RC1

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by ASpace, Sep 21, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. ASpace

ASpace Guest

Hi!

I am not very good with firewalls and I'd like to ask some questions about ESET's Firewall in ESS RC1 . The questions are about some "hard-coded" rules or something like that , I am sure they didn't apprear in previous beta versions (at least they weren't that visible)

1. They can be seen if Interactive Mode is used
    2. They cannot be edited
    3. I have attached their screenshots so that you can see them

Can you say a few words about them and if a firewall expert (like Stem) finds them OK .

Something else I would like to add:
    I got out of my DSL modem/router and tested the ESS firewall on both PC-Flank and GRC (I did all tests) . Both PC Flank and GRC show Stealth on all ports/tests (which makes me happy )

All pro comments are kindly appreciated !!! :thumb: :thumb: :thumb:

Attached Files:

2. oldshep

oldshep Registered Member

I discussed this issue with Stem via private message ~ 1 month ago. Since the message was private, I leave it up to him as to whether he wants to make his findings known here. He did post on the topic in this thread (#9):

https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?t=183610&highlight=firewall+capabilities

3. Stem

Stem Firewall Expert

Hello,
    The Hard_coded rules have been in place since the first beta. Questions where asked about these (on forum) but no reply given.

"oldshep" did PM me concerning system rules and problems with blocked packets within this firewall. I did reply to show where these rules are, and the fact I do not beta-test or use any firewall with hard_coded rules.