ESET 5 Anti-Virus "Super Slow"

Discussion in 'Other ESET Home Products Beta' started by GlitchKing, Jul 26, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. GlitchKing

    GlitchKing Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2011
    Posts:
    2
    I'm having what I think are some serious performance issues with ESET NOD32 Anti-Virus 5.

    The problem is I installed Windows 7 Ultimate 64 bit fresh with no other downloads as of yet.

    The "Quick Scan" takes a whopping 24 minutes to complete.

    Compared to other Anti-Virus softwares, this was extremely slow in comparison.

    Is this a general problem or is it normal?

    My PC Specs:

    Also, I should note that I run COMODO Firewall as a side product. Although it uses very low resources.

    Thanks,
    Glitch
     
  2. Cudni

    Cudni Global Moderator

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Posts:
    6,956
    Location:
    Somethingshire
    are there many archive files .zip .iso and so on?
     
  3. GlitchKing

    GlitchKing Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2011
    Posts:
    2
    .zip (0 that I've downloaded).
    .iso (not that I know of)

    I reformatted my last PC and before doing so I copied all the website files used.

    That's the only folder that I use. It's composed mainly of .php files with a couple (<20) .js files of minimum sizes.
     
  4. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    8,952
    so its just the on demand scan you feel is slow?
    if so i dont see it a major issue.

    which scan do you concider quick scan? (there isnt a scan in nod32 called quick)
     
    Last edited: Jul 26, 2011
  5. toxinon12345

    toxinon12345 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    Posts:
    1,180
    Location:
    Managua, Nicaragua
    If you scanned your whole local disks using the smart scan, then that is a really good time for completion
     
  6. berryracer

    berryracer Suspended Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2008
    Posts:
    1,640
    Location:
    Dubai, UAE
    Forget about the time it takes to complete a full scan. I don't mind it taking forever as long as it is doing it right. My issue is that I felt my system overall is more sluggish as opposed to when I had v4 installed and thus I have reverted back to v4
     
  7. toxinon12345

    toxinon12345 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    Posts:
    1,180
    Location:
    Managua, Nicaragua
    disabling threatsense.net and HIPS does make any difference?
     
  8. JimboW

    JimboW Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2010
    Posts:
    209
    I find it a little heavier on the system. Not by much mind you and not in RAM usage but rather I/O activity. Hopefully ESET can address this a little by final. ESET’s lightness is what drew me to it and is unparalleled IMO. I've also reverted to v4 for the time being.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.