Errors on new large hard drives

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by Wandering2, Apr 10, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Wandering2

Wandering2 Registered Member

I have been using the last build of V11 Home for a couple of years on a Windows Vista Home Basic machine. I recently used the clone feature of Acronis to put the operating system on a new 500 GB hard drive, and at the same time installed a new larger second drive (D:) at 1.5 TB. Both are performing just dandy, and all softare is functioning perfectly except Acronis.

Scheduled backups no longer complete. Whether starting from the CD, the installed program, or by a scheduled task Acronis cannot complete the initial scan of the disks without halting and reporting that data cannot be read from sector X, not always the same number. If I select cancel, the scan stops, the program comes up, and I can start a backup that soon halts with the same message.

I found that if I set the job to ignore errors, and not display them, it will run to completion and the backup will verify. I can get the scheduled jobs to run that way too, but they always stop on the initial scan, and cancelling will allow the job to run to completion - but I have to do that, so unattended backups are not possible now.

I have run scandisk on both disks - a long time on 2 TB, but it finds nothing to report. No other software is complaining. The disks are SATA, obviously.

I suspect this is a driver issue, and wonder if another build is required to handle the large disks. After using Acronis since V8, I would hate to move to another product.

An obvious solution is to try 2009, but the fact is, unless of course it can fix this problem, it has nothing I want that isn't in V11. I don't upgrade, except for security reasons, any software that serves my need as it is. Will it fix this problem?

Any thoughts?

I forgot to add that I already tried the SnapAPI update with no change in behavior. Sigh