Errors After Creating Snapshot

Discussion in 'FirstDefense-ISR Forum' started by TerryWood, Mar 19, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. TerryWood

TerryWood Registered Member

I am a newbie with just installed FD ISR

Win XP SP2 Comodo firewall Avast Home, Cyberhawk Spyware Terminator Snoopfree & Sandboxie.

When I first started creating snapshots the error log showed a number of errors, more importantly I was unable to boot into the newly created snapshot (just a blank screen)

I then tried updating the snapshot several times which reduced but never eliminated the errors. Again I could not boot into the new snapshot. I also uninstalled and reinstalled FD ISR but no joy

After research in this excellent forum I found a thread which suggested that Comodo & Cyberhawk might be the culprits. In the case of Comodo the issue was suggested to be the tick box "Protect own registry keys and files from modification"

So I set about creating snapshots by variously unticking the box in Comodo and separately suspending Cyberhawk

This appeared to work but I could never identify which one was the problem.

So a few minutes ago I unticked Comodo and Suspended Cyberhawk together and created a snapshot. This had 3 errors. I then tried updating the snapshot and it worked. No errors!

This seems to me to be both puzzling and unexpected behavior plus quite a bit of messing about to achieve basic functionality.

Could anyone assist me by shedding any light on what the problem might be

Thanks very much

Terry

2. Longboard

Longboard Registered Member

Hello Terry Wood

Some utilities, as you have found, protect their drivers and this can cause errors in snapshots.

Cant comment on Comodo, but have had this experience with CHawk.
    https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?t=157346

Check your logs for the errors: see what is there and get in touch with Raxco or your vendor (Raxco has a proven record with great support)