error sector errors during partitoin analysis

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by homerjsim, Aug 27, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. homerjsim

homerjsim Registered Member

Hi
    I'm a relative newbie, have been using Acroinis for a while now (6.0.0.342), and it seems by far to be the best backup solution for me. However, I have a question - when I back up a partition, during pre-backup analysis, it complains about bad sectors ("failed to read from sector <#####> from hard disc two").

I do have some unformatted space in my disk for a linux install I've never gotten around to, could it be related to that, and more to the point, can I ignore the eror messages? (no info in the manual on this)

thanks for any help,

Brian

2. homerjsim

homerjsim Registered Member

I should add - the error comes from the destination external hard disk (when I back up to a DVDRW I odn't get thaat error. That's what makes me nervous, that maybe I'm backing up to a bad device (although it seems to perform fine). Is Acronis doing some kind of super=sensitive check that the OS is going to work around anyway?

thanks again,
    Brian

3. wdormann

wdormann Registered Member

I don't think Acronis is doing any kind of special checking. But there's a good chance that the drive is developing bad sectors. Unfortunately, I know of no way of checking SMART status on an external drive (USB/Firewire)

I would suggest the following:
    1) Move the external drive to an internal IDE controller. (Assuming the enclosure allows this)
    2) Run smartmontools on the drive, using the following syntax:
    smartctl -a /dev/hdn (where n is the letter 'a', 'b', 'c', etc... , depending on which controller and the master/slave setting of the drive)
    3) Post the results here if the results aren't clear.