Error reading the file.

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by davesurfer, Jan 19, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. davesurfer

davesurfer Registered Member

For the last few days in a row I've been receiving this error in the log for Acronis 2009 -

"Error reading the file.

A possible reason may be poor media quality.

Please press Retry to continue with Volume 1 or press Cancel to cancel the operation."

This is happening when Acronis is attempting to consolidate the backup. The incremental backups work fine every day, it's just I have Acronis to consolidate them after 15 days and that's when it's giving this error. I've just bought Acronis approx 19-20 days ago and I have daily backups, so this is the first time Acronis is consolidating.

I am backing up over to a network drive. I have done a chkdsk /f on both the backup network drive and the local drive.

I'm assuming there's an error reading the incremental backup from 15 days ago? Because it's obviously trying to access that backup to remove the oldest files. Also, this backup from 15 days ago is the FULL backup which is about 40gb.

What can I do to fix this? I could do a validation on that backup file but that would take forever over the network.

thanks!! :)

2. rkh

rkh Registered Member

I'm having the exact same problem. Set to 15 days but doesn't always seem to be associated with consolidation, until today. I always just hit retry and the operation continues and eventually completes. I'm backing up to an external drive connected via firewire. Up until the past few days, the prior 60 were without incident.

3. bgoodman4

bgoodman4 Registered Member