Emsisoft Anti-Malware 6.0 released!

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by operamail, Oct 6, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Pablo87

    Pablo87 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2009
    Posts:
    323
    Is it safe to enable beta updates?
    Im new with EAM and i dont know if this is safe!
     
  2. saakeman

    saakeman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2011
    Posts:
    89

    No don't use beta updates...
     
  3. saakeman

    saakeman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2011
    Posts:
    89
    I have the same config as you, and i didn't even know it... Great minds think alike. And I must agree, only login is slow :thumb: :thumb:
     
  4. saakeman

    saakeman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2011
    Posts:
    89
    Online armor free doesn't have everything Premium has...
    And yes EAM has rootkit scaning, see (just scroll down) http://www.emsisoft.com/en/software/antimalware/
     
  5. Noob

    Noob Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    6,464
    Hahahaha i hope soo :D :thumb:
     
  6. progress

    progress Guest

    I know the detection is superior but how about false positives? The last time I tried EEK I got 3 FP ... :doubt:
     
  7. blacknight

    blacknight Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    Posts:
    2,118
    Location:
    Europe
    It again freezes in my pc; my configuration is not changed, and 5 v. works fine. o_O o_O
     
  8. The Hammer

    The Hammer Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    5,599
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    I'm told that's still an issue.
     
  9. markusg

    markusg Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2009
    Posts:
    248
    i have only 1 fp since i use it.
     
  10. Blues7

    Blues7 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2009
    Posts:
    858
    Location:
    Blue Ridge Mountains
    FWIW, over the several months I have used EAM I have not gotten a single FP.
     
  11. Noob

    Noob Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    6,464
    I did have 2 FP's from the almost 2 years of using it. Both were fixed within 24 hours after submitting.
     
  12. Sherlock_Holmes

    Sherlock_Holmes Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2010
    Posts:
    1,324
    Location:
    Mumbai
    Its a hell lot better than norton :cautious:
    Didnt get any fp when i was using it and still dont get any fp while using EEK
     
  13. stevan4

    stevan4 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2011
    Posts:
    85
    Absolutely RIGHT:thumb:
     
  14. saakeman

    saakeman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2011
    Posts:
    89
    Hitman PRO detected many false positives on my machine, even more than Emsisoft did in years, I have yet to find a false positive!

    People just want to make a brilliant program bad :'( :'( :'(
     
  15. saakeman

    saakeman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2011
    Posts:
    89
    I must agree, they are fast, sometimes faster than KIS or CIS. Don't know about NIS, since I never really use it. Panda Cloud is also a fast one, but still considerably slower than Emsisoft, in my opinion. It might be different for you, depends on the virus/situation. :thumb: :thumb:

    The thing I like most about Emsisoft's BB, is the community ratings it shows, that helps me make a decision... :D

    Overall brilliant program, I would like to see how it grows in future versions, maybe they will make the BB more robust, or add a sandbox o_O o_O Who knows.
     
  16. saakeman

    saakeman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2011
    Posts:
    89
    Are you sure it isn't a problem because of other security software? Did you buy it, or is it a trial? How long before this problem occurs? Did you or did you not ask in the Emsisoft forum? Are you using default settings?
     
  17. Thankful

    Thankful Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2005
    Posts:
    3,017
    Location:
    New York City
  18. markusg

    markusg Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2009
    Posts:
    248
    its emsisoft 5.x i think version 6 should be better in removal.
     
  19. Thankful

    Thankful Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2005
    Posts:
    3,017
    Location:
    New York City
    Good.
     
  20. Noob

    Noob Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    6,464
    We should have an answer from Emsisoft itself :D
    From the list of changes they didn't mention that aspect but who knows :thumb:
     
  21. progress

    progress Guest

    I think EEK already uses the latest engine and interface ... :doubt:
     
  22. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    8,953
    it still has the spinning horse icon so i assumed that would be updated at the same time as the new scan engine?
     
  23. saakeman

    saakeman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2011
    Posts:
    89
    Why does your version say 6.0.0.45, and mine is 6.0.0.44o_O
     
  24. Mops21

    Mops21 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2010
    Posts:
    1,123
  25. blacknight

    blacknight Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    Posts:
    2,118
    Location:
    Europe

    As I previous posted in this thread, the previous version worked fine, and I didn't changed my security configuration. May be that the new beta with his fix will solve the issue.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.