Electronic Fax questions

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by Capp, Aug 19, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Capp

Capp Registered Member

Hey guys,

I've been tasked with getting some info on how to modernize this office when it comes to faxing.
    I am a novice at best when it comes to electronic fax services, so I'm seeking your help.

The owner has a full time employee whose sole responsibility is faxing orders. Obviously this takes a lot of time and ties up the fax machine all day.
    She wants to know if there is a way we can set up an electronic fax, so all the orders can be just converted to PDF (via PrimoPDF..which we use) and then just sent from her desktop to multiple fax numbers. And, if that is possible, can it be setup for everyone's desktop so anyone can use it. And also, is there a way to have incoming faxes directed to people's computers or inboxes?

The only thing I've ever heard of was eFax and I think its like $17/month, which isn't the issue. But I've never used it and no nothing about it.

Her office has a dozen WinXP SP3 computers and a SBS2003 server.

This is a small company, but has hundreds of orders going to physicians and hospitals, all day, every day. They want to get modernized.

So, what is you guys recommendation for software, free or paid, hardware, setup, etc..?

2. Peter2150

Peter2150 Global Moderator

Hi Capp

I work with PDF's quite a bit.

For Outgoing faxes once it's in PDF format, I just use the built in Windows Fax(XP). It works fine, you can set up address books, and can do it from any machine.

I don't receive many incoming faxes, but the ones I do come in already in PDF format.

I use a voicemail service via VoiceNation. It costs me $9.95 a month and I receive my voice mails via an attachment to an email. If someone sends a fax to my voicemail number it comes to me by email as a pdf attachment.

Pete

3. Capp

Capp Registered Member

Awesome, thank you.