Does Virtualization help make you safer from Internet Threats?

Discussion in 'sandboxing & virtualization' started by DesuMaiden, Mar 26, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. DesuMaiden

DesuMaiden Registered Member

I've read that virtual machines can help my internet browsing much safer.

My previous laptop got trojans from simply clicking on pictures of memes from google images. Plus I once got a trojan from browsing a random academic website for psychology when I was looking for resources for one of my school projects.

I've gotten those nasty viruses on my previous windows vista laptop which completely ****ed up that laptop (thus rendering its life span to only a mere 3 years). Now that I have a new laptop which I've been using for the past 6 months, I want to make it as safe as possible while I browse the web.

I don't even browse any questionable websites on the internet, but my previous nasty experiences from getting deadly viruses from browsing perfectly safe-for-work-content made me very paranoid. Thus I needed to find a full-proof way of protecting myself from viruses, hackers, and other threats on the internet.

I've read that Virtual machines can make my computer safer from internet threats. Is that true? How can viruses/hackers penetrate virtual machines to mess up my host OS?

Your help is greatly appreciated.

2. WSFfan

WSFfan Registered Member

Get Sandboxie paid version(lifetime license-very friendly license terms)or simply use its free version.Use Hitman Pro or Malwarebytes Anti-Malware or any antimalware program that you trust for scanning the downloaded files.

Sandboxie guide:

Please note that the following is simply a guide, and there are other viable variations to use at each step:

1. Create as many separate sandboxes as is required for your internet facing applications. Try to have one separate sandbox per internet facing application.