Does user base matter that much?

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by truoc, Apr 5, 2016.

1. truoc

truoc Registered Member

I am studying IT & Cybersecurity in college at the moment and have been going back and forth on what protection to use for my own devices and something has been on my mind. If Windows is the most used operating system in the world and with the popularity of MSE (Defender built into the new W10 OS) wouldn't that make Microsoft the world's leading protector as far as AV's go? I know that AV protection isn't exactly what Microsoft is known for, but if this is the case then aren't they technically what most people *should* use because they would be able to leverage what infections are occurring the fastest because they have the greatest surface area or am I looking at this the entire wrong way? Or do they only leverage this information by the use of the Malicious software tool that is downloaded monthly (or used to be)? I know that third-party security applications are *generally* recommended due to the fact that security is their primary focus, but why isn't Microsoft the best if they *technically* have the most users? Just something that has been on my mind. Thanks!

2. quietman

quietman Registered Member

It's Microsoft's massive user base that makes them the primary target for malware creators IMO

I never bought into the urban myth that Apple machines were "immune" to viruses

3. Minimalist

Minimalist Registered Member

I agree. Since MSE is used by so many users, malware creators will make sure that their creations are not detected by it. Maybe some less known AVs are not tested by malware creators...

4. safeguy

safeguy Registered Member

It depends. If you consider prevalence, then user base can have an impact.

https://blogs.technet.microsoft.com...oach-to-traditional-antimalware-test-scoring/