Does Sandboxie have self-protection?

Discussion in 'sandboxing & virtualization' started by CoolWebSearch, Sep 20, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. CoolWebSearch

CoolWebSearch Registered Member

If hacker detects virtual sandbox (of Sandboxie) and wants to shut-down/terminate Sandboxie and any/every or all of its processes, would be he/she able to do it?
    I never asked this before, I also never tried to shutdown it in Task Manager or any of its other processes in C/program files/ or in the registry or anywhere else...
    Does anyone knows this?
    Should I have something with Sandboxie, so every and all of Sandboxie processes remain fully protected from termination/shutdown?
    Thanks to all.

2. Mman79

Mman79 Registered Member

I'm fairly new to all things Sandboxie, but I'm sure it does (a quick search of its forum didn't say much on the subject.). I'm not all that certain it's a really big issue though. If it's not allowed to run within Sandboxie, the malware will just sit there. Also, provided you have it enabled, Drop Rights will limit its abilities. You're probably better off waiting for more knowledgeable people to chime in, but that's my take on it.

3. Osaban

Osaban Registered Member

I'm not sure, but I think that terminating Sandboxie would be tantamount to deleting the sandbox which would defeat the malware itself...

4. Joxx

Joxx Registered Member

The way I see it, if a malware wanted to terminate Sandboxie it would first have to get out of the sandbox, which it cannot do. In fact some viruses kill themselves when noticing they are inside a sandbox.

Sandboxie main function (nothing goes out to access critical areas of the machine) works as well as self-protection.

5. Dark Shadow

Dark Shadow Registered Member