Does Kubuntu 12 LTS allow a user to encrypt Swap?

Discussion in 'all things UNIX' started by Warlockz, May 18, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Warlockz

Warlockz Registered Member

Im trying to encrypt my swap in Linux Mint 12 KDE, but so far I have read it does not support it, Does Kubuntu 12 support encrypting SWAP with

sudo ecryptfs-setup-swap

Because Linux mint 12 KDE just gives me

~ # sudo ecryptfs-setup-swap
    sudo: ecryptfs-setup-swap: command not found

Linux Mint 12 is becoming a major Hemorrhoid, if its not one thing its another. so I am about to quickly switch to something more stable and that supports more of the features I want.

2. Warlockz

sorry im a noob, I Installed Linux Mint 12 KDE for learning purposes, and do not have any sensitive files on it, Im just trying to learn as much about linux security as possible for when I decide to create my main Linux Box...

I think im going to go to the linux forums instead, I dont know why im always asking linux questions here? seems too slow here for linux questions...:cautious:

3. chronomatic

chronomatic Registered Member

You can encrypt swap on Ubuntu. I do it every time I updgrade. But I also use the full disk encryption option, which automatically encrypts swap.

But you can encrypt swap by itself if you want to. I wouldn't use encryptfs, but would use cryptsetup instead. It will encrypt it with a random key and thus you wont have to enter any password. You can google on how to use cryptsetup.

4. Warlockz

I take this statement back, tried Kubuntu 12LTS for a few hours and I felt like banging my head against the wall, still have not found anything that measures up to the ease and usability of Linux Mint.