Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by nealh, Jan 28, 2005.
does true image 8...reformat or just overwrite the partition being restored??
Thank you for your interest in Acronis True Image (http://www.acronis.com/homecomputing/products/trueimage/).
Acronis True Image doesn't wipe the destination disk. It overwrites partition table (if you restore the whole disk),deletes the old partitions and creates new. For example, if the partition type that was before the restoration is different from the new one then Acronis True Image reformats this partition into a new type.
If you have further questions concerning Acronis True Image please feel free to ask on this forum or via e-mail firstname.lastname@example.org.
hmm..so if you restore a partition with no reformat..you run the risk of still having some junk around...in theory reformatting is important to make sure there is no residual bad files...correct
You haven't got any risk of having junk. After the restoration process you will obtain a new partition (or several of them if you restored more than one) with files that were stored on this new partition. No old files will be available for you, they won't take place on your new partition and if they for example were infected by virus your new files cannot be infected by it.
Of course, there are some special programs that can restore old files but unless you use it your new system doesn't deal with these old files at all.
Separate names with a comma.