Do you use Ghostery?

Discussion in 'polls' started by carat, Jan 8, 2012.

?

Do you use Ghostery?

  1. Yes

    92 vote(s)
    51.1%
  2. No

    88 vote(s)
    48.9%
  1. carat

    carat Guest

    Do you use Ghostery? :doubt:
     
  2. Daveski17

    Daveski17 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Posts:
    7,214
    Location:
    Lloegyr
    I use Ghostery & SpywareBlaster inter alia, I have just finished a three & a half hour SUPERAntiSpyware scan & still found 91 tracking cookies! :(

    OK, I admit it's been a while since I have done a full scan with SAS.
     
  3. mrpink

    mrpink Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2010
    Posts:
    371
    No, i don't give a **** about tracking cookies
     
  4. guest

    guest Guest

    No.

    NoScript (scripts globally allowed but with restrictions), Adblock Plus (EasyList and EasyPrivacy lists) and PeerBlock (Spyware and Advertising lists) are already blocking almost everything Ghostery would block here.

    As for cookies, I already use the extension Cookie Whitelist, With Buttons to manage cookies: third-party cookies aren't accepted; unauthorized (not white-listed) first-party cookies are recorded and accepted only for the current browser session.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Jan 8, 2012
  5. Hungry Man

    Hungry Man Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2011
    Posts:
    9,139
    I always block all 3rd party cookies. They don't really benefit me so why bother?
     
  6. guest

    guest Guest

    I don't give a *** too, but it's not good to see them detected when I run a scan with Hitman Pro - for a good reason: I'm somewhat suspicious that SurfRight developers will, at some point, make tracking cookie detection/cleaning automatically start the program trial period (as malware detection/cleaning already does), lol.
     
  7. Daveski17

    Daveski17 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Posts:
    7,214
    Location:
    Lloegyr
    I admit I don't give several asterisks about tracking cookies either, but I am curious about how I can still get them though.
     
  8. guest

    guest Guest

    After I started managing cookies on Firefox with Cookie Whitelist, With Buttons, they don't survive (third-party cookies are blocked by default; not white-listed first-party cookies are recorded for usage on the current browser session only). On QtWeb, Private Browsing feature is always enabled and they also don't survive.
     
  9. mrpink

    mrpink Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2010
    Posts:
    371
    I have unticked that option in Hitman since day one, and the funny thing is if i check it back Hitman ignores it, does not detect anything :eek:
     
  10. Daveski17

    Daveski17 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Posts:
    7,214
    Location:
    Lloegyr
    OK, thanks for the tip. :thumb:
     
  11. carat

    carat Guest

    Did you know that Facebook, Google, Twitter and others track your online browsing activities on every site that includes one of these buttons, even if you never click the buttons and (in some browsers) even if you have third-party cookies disabled? :(
     
  12. Page42

    Page42 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    Posts:
    5,674
    Location:
    Last Breath Farm
    No.
    I used it briefly, then decided that I wanted to reduce the number of extensions I run.
     
  13. Daveski17

    Daveski17 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Posts:
    7,214
    Location:
    Lloegyr
    Yes, that is an excellent point.
     
  14. EboO

    EboO Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2011
    Posts:
    287
    Have you ever heard about "do not track plus" ?

    hxxp://donottrackplus.com/
     
  15. dw426

    dw426 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2007
    Posts:
    5,543
    Yes, a paid program that does what the others do for free.
     
  16. EboO

    EboO Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2011
    Posts:
    287
    paid ?!

    I've tried it and it's free. But it blocks less elements than ghostery.
     
  17. dw426

    dw426 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2007
    Posts:
    5,543
    I sure thought it was mentioned in a review a week or so back that it was a paid product. I'm not surprised it doesn't work as well as others, being Abine. Their TPL list might as well not even be there, it's rather poor in my limited experience with it.
     
  18. Lanny1276

    Lanny1276 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2012
    Posts:
    16
    Location:
    canada
    ...good thread. I thought that many of these site trackers (ie: google adsense) work regardless of whether or not one has cookies disabled.
     
  19. Daveski17

    Daveski17 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Posts:
    7,214
    Location:
    Lloegyr
    That's what I thought too. Extensions like Ghostery, NoScript, RequestPolicy or filters like SpywareBlaster & the like can block this tracking to some extent.
     
  20. EboO

    EboO Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2011
    Posts:
    287
    I've got a question for whose who don't use ghostery : easyprivacy and easylist are enough or i need more ?
    With noscript how can i configure it ? I've abandonned it a few years ago because it were too restrictive daily.
     
  21. Daveski17

    Daveski17 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Posts:
    7,214
    Location:
    Lloegyr
    NoScript faq
     
  22. nikanthpromod

    nikanthpromod Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2009
    Posts:
    1,369
    Location:
    India
    No .. dont have time to study whos tracking me.;)
     
  23. guest

    guest Guest

    According to some posts on this thread, they may be enough. That thread also raises some concerns about the ad company that owns Ghostery.

    Figure out what I tweaked (My reasons were stated here and here):

    screenshot.2.png
    screenshot.3.png
    screenshot.4.png
    screenshot.5.png
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Jan 10, 2012
  24. Tarnak

    Tarnak Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    Posts:
    3,444
    I use it with Opera, but when I click on the icon it shows nothing. So, I am not sure if it is working. o_O

    ScreenShot_Ghostery_icon_click_shows nothing.jpg
     
  25. EboO

    EboO Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2011
    Posts:
    287
    Thanks guest :)

    If ghostery is disabled ABP won't block social buttons. So which solution is possible ? Noscript with specific rules ?