Do you use a HIPS with your specialized desktop setup?

Discussion in 'polls' started by Gullible Jones, Aug 20, 2012.

?

Do you use a HIPS with your specialized desktop setup?

1. Yes, I'm a gamer and I use a HIPS

2 vote(s)
    4.9%
  2. Yes, I'm a developer of some sort and I use a HIPS

0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  3. Yes, I'm an artist of some sort and I use a HIPS

0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  4. Yes, I'm a student of some sort and I use a HIPS

4 vote(s)
    9.8%
  5. Yes, I have some other specialized setup and I use a HIPS

11 vote(s)
    26.8%
  6. No, HIPS software gets in my way too much

24 vote(s)
    58.5%
  1. And if so, how do you keep it manageable? If you answer yes, please say what HIPS and a brief description of what sort of settings...

2. ichito

ichito Registered Member

I voted "I'm a student"...there is still many things to get to know and learn so I'm as always still some student :) What I'm using?...at this time fully licenced System Safety Monitor v. 2.4.0.622 on WinXp SP3...why?...because it works fantastic and enough good for me. My settings in short words:
    - added 3 group in application rules (on screenshot default group are gray): user apps, office apps and security apps...it's easier form me manage all my programs
    - all modules are enabled
    - turned ON "Alert on changed and temporary files in Learning mode"
    - turned OFF "Trust signed binaries"
    - current config file is settled on non-system disk
    120820101316_4.jpg 120820100844_2.jpg

3. moontan

moontan Registered Member

no.

i don't have time to babysit a HIPS.

beside, i find this stuff too confusing.
    answer one Allow/Deny popup the wrong way and you're pwned. lol

4. Page42

Page42 Registered Member

Mind explaining what you mean by "specialized setup"?

5. Something that exceeds the requirements of a "normal desktop." e.g.
    - Playing realtime games that require network access and no interruption