Do I need Real-Time Ewido Scanner

Discussion in 'ewido anti-spyware forum' started by KDNeese, Dec 23, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. KDNeese

KDNeese Registered Member

I have been using Ewido for several months now and really like it. I have a fairly new computer (less than 6 mos old), so (knock on wood) have not had any problems whatsoever with Ewido. I am currently using the free version simply for scanning, but have been so impressed with it that I have seriously considered getting the Plus version for the real-time capability. However, I was wondering if that would be overkill or really necessary considering the other apps I run. Right now I am running the following as resident real-time scanners:

NOD 32
    Sunbelt-Kerio Personal Firewall (paid version with HIPS)
    Counterspy
    Winpatrol
    SpywareGuard
    SpywareBlaster

I also use the Opera (8.5.1) browser, so about 98% of the garbage, tracking cookies and such that I used to clean on a daily basis have completely disappeared. The thing I was wondering was whether having Ewido running resident would be duplicating efforts considering the other apps I'm running. I know that Counterspy is very good as far as spyware, but am not sure how well it deals with trojans and such that seems to be Ewido's specialty. I also know from experience that NOD32 does an excellent job of catching trojans before they download. There have was an instance where I inadvertently went to a bad website and NOD32 stopped 4 trojans in their tracks.