Disk Wiping - a steer for a new member

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by Cammer, Dec 30, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Cammer

Cammer Registered Member

Hi,

I have been through just about every permutation of spybot, HJT, adaware and a bunch of other trusted techniques, courtesy of another forum.

I have a functioning system, but not a clean one. (Looks clean one minute turn your back and there a bunch of new problems.) Something nasty is buried in there.

I have good enough back ups to make a complete disc wipe and rebuild an option, but I am a novice and do not know which forum I should direct this query too.

The closest would seem to be the Acronis forum. Looks pretty product-centred (which is OK I am happy to pay for good software) but the general feedback on experiences with these tools seems pretty negative.

If this is simply a challeneging task to get right, no matter how good the tool - OK I'll try, but I am not particularly skilled.

All I know is that I have spent a lot of time and followed a lot of valuable and appreciated advice, but I think its time for a more drastic approach.

All guidance welcome

Cammer

2. snapdragin

snapdragin Registered Member

Hi Cammer,

Welcome to Wilders.

I have moved your thread from the Test Forum into the Software & Services forum where it will get better attention for the questions you've asked.

Regards,

snap

3. Bubba

Bubba Updates Team

While I read all of your post....is the above quote where you would like assistance ? If so....would you add a few more pieces like what are some of your indications....pop-ups, your malware programs finding culprits, firewall program warnings....etc. In short....what indications are you seeing of a nasty.

Also....as snapdragin said....Welcome to Wilders [​IMG]

4. Cammer

Cammer Registered Member