Diamond "special"

Discussion in 'Trojan Defence Suite' started by motdaugrnds, Jan 2, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. motdaugrnds

    motdaugrnds Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2002
    Posts:
    46
    Location:
    USA
    Hello,
    I read where there is a special going whereas I can purchase PE, TDS, WG, etc. together for only about a hundred dollars. I've been saving my money to do so. Can anyone tell me how long the special will run?
    Thank you
     
  2. Tassie_Devils

    Tassie_Devils Global Moderator

    Joined:
    May 8, 2002
    Posts:
    2,514
    Location:
    State Queensland, Australia
    Hi motdaugrnds

    No, I do not know, I actually looked on their page but nothing about an expiry date.
    I think it will go for a while yet though, just my guess.
    But it MOST certainly is great value.

    Cheers.

    edit: http://www.diamondcs.com.au/actionpack/

    This is about all it says.
     
  3. Paul Wilders

    Paul Wilders Administrator

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2001
    Posts:
    12,472
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    As it seems, there has no limit been set as of yet. Motdaugrnds, feel free to drop me an email: webmaster@wilders.org coming from a non-web based email address, real name and when you have the funds to buy the actionpack. We might possibly "reserve" a copy - at least give it a try ;).

    regards.

    paul
     
  4. motdaugrnds

    motdaugrnds Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2002
    Posts:
    46
    Location:
    USA
    Paul, That would be such a relief for me. Hope you can swing it. I have this day emailed you from my home email address, with my real name and personal address for our homestead...the homestead spoken of on the URL in my profile.

    Love these programs......You might like to know, I ran an on-line assessment of my security and was told it was "exceptional"....thanks to great programs like those from the Diamond site.
     
  5. Jooske

    Jooske Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2002
    Posts:
    9,713
    Location:
    Netherlands, EU near the sea
    You could send a copy of that to the DCS team (Wayne in this case) if you like, as he came with the wonderful offer! But it's good to have Paul with you, just in case :D
    Agreeing, i love the software, and once you've registered it you can play all the TDS scripts and have access to the private forum too, to mention a few goodies, besides more functionallity in the programs and unlimited useage, and being part of the licenced TDS operators family is something to look forward to!
     
  6. motdaugrnds

    motdaugrnds Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2002
    Posts:
    46
    Location:
    USA
    Thank you Jooske. If I can find it, I will.

    What is their email address?
     
  7. Paul Wilders

    Paul Wilders Administrator

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2001
    Posts:
    12,472
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Please don't - DCS has been informed in the meanwhile, and one and the same message coming from different locations is bound to cause problems ;). Be assured we keep you posted - and personally, I;m quite optimistic in regard to the result ;).

    regards.

    paul
     
  8. motdaugrnds

    motdaugrnds Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2002
    Posts:
    46
    Location:
    USA
    Paul, Jooske and I were talking about the "on-line assessment" I recently did that showed my security programs were working beautifully. We were not talking about the $99 Diamond special. Isn't this special what you are talking about?

    I won't send anything to anyone until I hear from you. Really don't need to anyway. I'm just proud this PC is well protected.
     
  9. Tassie_Devils

    Tassie_Devils Global Moderator

    Joined:
    May 8, 2002
    Posts:
    2,514
    Location:
    State Queensland, Australia
    Hello motdaugrnds/jooske/paul, how are you guys after New Year? :)

    Anyhow, just a quick note to acknowledge Paul's input on motdaugrnds' behalf. Good on ya mate!

    Now, motdaugrnds mentioned a site where her security was "exceptional". I would be interested in this site as have never seen a test site with that 'result'.

    Could I please have the addy. thanks.

    PS: Paul, thanks for the post at DCS private forum.
     
  10. motdaugrnds

    motdaugrnds Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2002
    Posts:
    46
    Location:
    USA
    Well that didn't work! I lost my post.....Had to go find the URL and write it down in order to get it here. (Copy/paste didn't work from my "favorites". I use IE6; so don't understand why I couldn't copy/paste the URL from my "favorites" to a post here.) Anyway, Tassie, the URL for the site where I got my "stealth" rating is:

    http://grc.com/x/ne.dll?rh1bi212=qiv0a2j5
     
  11. Jooske

    Jooske Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2002
    Posts:
    9,713
    Location:
    Netherlands, EU near the sea
    GRC.com has several nice tests you might like to run :)
    Has to do with the firewall too, among others; good to know the pc well protected!
     
  12. Tassie_Devils

    Tassie_Devils Global Moderator

    Joined:
    May 8, 2002
    Posts:
    2,514
    Location:
    State Queensland, Australia
    thanks motdaugrnds.

    I do already have that :D site. I suppose it was just your wording that threw me, lol.

    anyway, how would you like to test some more with these sites.

    This will REALLY test your system:

    Have fun. :D :D

    ONLINE SCANNER TESTS FOR AV:

    Trend Micro's free online [Housecall] virus scanner: http://housecall.trendmicro.com/

    BitDefender Free Online Virus Scan: http://www.bitdefender.com/scan/licence.php

    Panda ActiveScan Online Virus Scan: http://www.pandasoftware.es/activescan/activescan-com.asp

    PCPitstop AntiVirus Online Scan: http://www.pcpitstop.com/antivirus/avload.asp

    Symantec's Online Scan: http://security2.norton.com/

    Eicar virus tests [EXCELLENT. Try to download the virus 'test files' and see if your AV stops it before it downloads]:
    http://www.eicar.org/anti_virus_test_file.htm

    Scanning sites: These sites 'probe' your computer looking for vulnerabilities in your system. Probe to see what Ports they can connect to, what info they can get about yor OS, your browser, clipboard, email weaknesses, etc.

    email EXPLOITS TESTS:

    Declude email tests: http://www.declude.com/tools/mailsend.html

    GFI Email Security Testing Zone: http://www.gfi.com/emailsecuritytest/

    FIREWALL / SYSTEMS TESTS: [Some of these sites you may have to "Register", just fill in a UserName and password or email for verification. No personal details needed, all sites listed below are trustworthy]

    NOTE: Make sure you read each page/site carefully, as you MUST make sure it is scanning YOUR IP, NOT your ISP's IP. Some sites you will have no choice to alter the setting if you are behind a 'Proxy IP' that your ISP provides. I personally cannot be scanned by one or two of the sites most of the time, as they only detect my ISP's Proxy address, therefore waste of time and your ISP may get cranky if you keep probing their ports]

    Blackcode [EXCELLENT]: http://www.blackcode.com/scan/index.php

    HackerWhacker: http://hackerwhacker.com/newindex.dyn

    AuditMyPC.com [VERY GOOD]: http://www.auditmypc.com/freescan/prefcan.asp

    Broadband Reports.com [EXCELLENT, DO THE SLOW SCAN]: http://www.dslreports.com/scan/

    Computer Cops Security Professionals: http://www.computercops.biz/index.php

    HackerWatch.org: http://www.hackerwatch.org/probe/

    Security Space.com: http://www.securityspace.com/sspace/index.html

    PC Flank Complete Check [EXCELLENT]: http://www.pcflank.com/

    PCPitStop Checks/TuneUp [VERY GOOD]: http://pcpitstop.com/

    Qualys' Free Browser Checkup: http://browsercheck.qualys.com/

    Sygate Online Services [EXCELLENT]: http://scan.sygate.com/

    Steve Gibons's ShieldsUP [GRC-Gibson Research Centre]: http://grc.com/intro.htm

    SECURITY NEWS/INFO:

    For GREAT info on Internet Explorer, AOL: http://www.staff.uiuc.edu/~ehowes/btw/ie/ie-opts.htm

    Wayne's Windows Administrator Support site for Windows NT / Windows 2000 / Windows XP / Penetration Testing / Firewalls: LOTS of links inside....
    http://is-it-true.org/

    Outlook Express Security Related Info: Lots of troubleshooting, etc: http://www.mvps.org/inetexplorer/outlook_express.htm OR: http://www.mvps.org to Home Page with lots extra info various flavours.

    SecurityFocus: http://www.securityfocus.org/

    Microsoft Setting up Security Zones IE: http://www.microsoft.com/windows/ie/using/howto/security/setup.asp#activex

    StormRanger Computer Security: http://www.stormranger.net/pages/590300/index.htm

    my | NETWATCHMAN Attacks Info: http://www.mynetwatchman.com/

    Distributed Intrusion Detection System
    DShield.org: http://www.dshield.org/index.html

    LAST, but not least, this site has LOTS of links, mainly to a lot of the above :)

    IGGYZ PLACE: Now this is the be-all end-all of Internet security tests/links/advice/information:

    First: http://www.iggyz.com/Test.html
    There is over 667 links inside each of the testing/info sites in this page. Take weeks to cover it all. Then.....

    there is this: http://www.iggyz.com/files/Bookmarkz/antivirus.html Over 770 links to various information/topics/fixes relating to Viruses. It's a "Must Read" for anyone seriously interested in security.

    This site is for ADVANCED users only.

    ##########: Trojans/Detectors/Cleaners: USE AT OWN RISK [PERSONALLY I WOULD **NOT** DOWNLOAD ANYTHING FROM HERE ~ I JUST INCLUDED THIS SO YOU CAN SEE WHAT THEY ARE ~ DANGEROUS TO EVEN TRY IF YOU DO NOT KNOW WHAT YOU ARE DOING ~ HAVE A *LOOK ONLY* THEN GET OUT]: http://link-removed.com/files/

    edit: PS: I stated about checking to get real IP address. To do that, there is usually two little computers icon in your System Tray [near clock], either click once or dbl click should bring up a window like my pic and you can check it to see YOUR IP address.


    - removed link to malware site - LWM
     

    Attached Files:

  13. Jooske

    Jooske Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2002
    Posts:
    9,713
    Location:
    Netherlands, EU near the sea
    Wow Tassie, helpful as always; this posting deserves a central place in the forums, sticked on top of a thread so it doesn't snow under.
     
  14. Paul Wilders

    Paul Wilders Administrator

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2001
    Posts:
    12,472
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Apologies for the misunderstanding, ladies and gents! :rolleyes:

    regards.

    paul
     
  15. Pilli

    Pilli Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Posts:
    6,217
    Location:
    Hampshire UK
    Hi TD & Happy New Year!
    To add to your bit about ip addresses.
    If you are running xp you will get the pic as below when clicking on Local area connection. See xproipad .jpg attached
    Note I am using a Linksys cable/ADSL router so the IP address shown is just my LAN address to get my WAN address I need to access the router and check it's status as shown below:

    MAC Address: 00-00-xx-xx-xx-xx
    IP Address: xx.6.25.71
    Subnet Mask: 255.255.255.0
    Default Gateway: xx.6.25.254

    I have difficulty scanning my real IP because of my ISP's proxy servers but Sygate works OK
     

    Attached Files:

  16. Jooske

    Jooske Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2002
    Posts:
    9,713
    Location:
    Netherlands, EU near the sea
    Hmmm dear people, did you use our most beloved TDS?
    Each day starting TDS we see our various IP addresses, local and public, and in
    TDS > System Analysis > Get internet IP, you see them displayed once again, including testing for the ISP, port 80 you had in the configuration, etc. Nice so nice.
    Tadatadataaaaaaa
     
  17. Tassie_Devils

    Tassie_Devils Global Moderator

    Joined:
    May 8, 2002
    Posts:
    2,514
    Location:
    State Queensland, Australia
    HI Pilli, ditto mate.

    errrr..... I don't see the pic, lol... must have flown off into the ethernet

    I run W2K PRO myself.

    and yeah, there must at least be several ways to get your IP.

    Cheers.

    edit: oops, just as I posted and it went back, I saw the pic.

    Hi Jooske, how are you?
    Yep, getting the IP from TDS is simple, but wasnt sure if motdaugrnds
    had TDS or not.
     
  18. Pilli

    Pilli Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Posts:
    6,217
    Location:
    Hampshire UK
    Hi again TD, No I forgot to "X" out some of the IP addy and then forgot to re-ad the graphic - should be working OK now.

    Jooske, Sorry but you don't get the WAN info' when on a router unless I am missing something which would not surprise me :oops:

    12:01:26 [Radius Update] Database already up-to-date - transfer aborted.
    12:02:06 [Internet IP] Current interface addresses: 192.168.1.100, 127.0.0.1
    12:02:06 [Internet IP] Connecting to ISP (tds.diamondcs.com.au:80) for physical test, please wait ...
    12:02:07 [Internet IP] The current Internet IP address for this system is 192.168.1.100 :eek:
     
  19. Jooske

    Jooske Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2002
    Posts:
    9,713
    Location:
    Netherlands, EU near the sea
    Aha, so i have the basics configuration for persons without WAN, routers, and all that, just a normal user, pc connected on internet, i get my modem, netcard, localhost and public IP numbers. TDS should really grab your public IP too, don't you think? Have no idea how to with routers!

    Wait a moment, you did not configure your own ISP in the TDS > Configuration > Servers like www.pillisispdomain.com port 80; without that and maybe also not your SMTP configured you never get your TDS alert emails and not sure if you can use the SMTP plugin to email others.
    Have a try to see what happens if you change that.
     
  20. Pilli

    Pilli Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Posts:
    6,217
    Location:
    Hampshire UK
    Jooske,
    Not sure how TDS3 could get a WAN address from the router, though maybe TDS4 will be able to so. The router config screens requires a password even from the LAN side. Maybe it could beachieved using ss3 scripting but I have not tried it.

    Both SMTP plugin & TDS submit file work fine behind the router as the NAT only stops unwanted incoming requests. Outgoing requests are handled by my Sygate pro 5 firewall which asks if I will allow the connection as required this, of course, applies to any outgoing connections
     
  21. motdaugrnds

    motdaugrnds Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2002
    Posts:
    46
    Location:
    USA
    Hello,

    You are all so kind and helpful. I do have TDS-3 Tassie. I just don't know how to use all of it as yet.....learning about all the new Diamond programs I recently downloaded.......LOVE THEM.....just don't understand them as well as I might yet.

    The sites you presented in this thread was a wonderful service to laypersons like me, Tassie. I did know about some of them, visiting PCPitstop, Symantic and Housecall frequently in the past. Now, I've added the "Shields Up!" site to my practice. (I've copied your list, saving it to my personal file.)

    I am learning so much from reading everyone's posts. Often I am confused by what is said because those of you who are so knowledgeable talk "shorthand" LOL Thus, you all might discover I am asking "foolish" questions. Just please know it is not your posts that are confusing; but, it is my own ignorance about the topic discussed that causes my confusion. And sometimes that missing information is so very tiny that, when I get it, I wonder why I hadn't already know it. LOL Example:

    Jooske, you posted about "configure own ISP in TDS > Configuration > Servers..." siting "....http://www.pillisispdomain Port 80...." My questions: How do I do this? What do I put in? How do I find out what IP to put in? (These questions might sound foolish to some of you; but I ask you to please excuse my ignorance.)
     
  22. Tassie_Devils

    Tassie_Devils Global Moderator

    Joined:
    May 8, 2002
    Posts:
    2,514
    Location:
    State Queensland, Australia
    Hello motdaugrnds

    Nothing is so foolish than the UNASKED question.

    Believe me, Jooske is way ahead of me via scripts. I really have no interest in them at all, not my bag, but Jooske is the uncrowned Queen of Scripts, lol.

    I do hope you have fun visiting those sites over the next few weeks, because believe me, they are pretty awesome some of them. Really test your system and browser and email [IE/OE] vulnerbilities.

    Oh, re my previous post about getting IP addy. Use TDS.

    Just look at the screenshot I posted. Too simple.
     

    Attached Files:

  23. Jooske

    Jooske Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2002
    Posts:
    9,713
    Location:
    Netherlands, EU near the sea
    Talking security shorthand, hm nice one, must keep that in our vocabulary.
    Foolish questions don't excist, it's better to fill the gaps in understanding and knowledge to build further more complete on our education. We all are/have been there, and we see our education grow.

    We use to write a path to follow in a shorter way, as i could have written:
    In TDS, on the TDS console, see the menu, find TDS, click on that, in the menu that opens click on the Configuration, clikc on the Servers tab, see the ISP IP address; in that one put your ISP's main website, like www.motdaughtersdomain.com and write port 80; after in the right column where it says SMTP server, if you don't know find in your email client your SMTP (send mail) configuration your ISP provided you with, like smtp.motdaughtersdomain.com and in the space under it you write your own emailaddress. Press the "test" button to see if you get your email properly sent and received in your inbox.
    If you're satisfied with that tab, you can go to the other tabs or click "save"; if you did not change a thing you can click "hide" to make that configuration console disappear.
    For "motdaughterdomain.com you take of course your real ISP's domain. If it was hotmail it would be www.hotmail.com, whatever...........
    So see the arrows as pointers to choose and click the next indicated item.
    You will learn and take your time, step by step.
    Somewhere very very long ago in the early threads in the TDS forum here i ever posted a msagent script guiding you high speed through the configuration process when first running TDS :)
     
  24. DolfTraanberg

    DolfTraanberg Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2002
    Posts:
    676
    Location:
    Amsterdam
    Jooske,
    As Pilli stated before , if you’re behind a router TDS will never know the public IP
    Dolf
    http://www.xs4all.nl/~zeylstra/images/Ip-adresses.jpg
    btw have a great 2003
     
  25. Pilli

    Pilli Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Posts:
    6,217
    Location:
    Hampshire UK
    :D Motdaugrnds,
    We all learn by asking questions - the unasked questions are the foolish ones!
    Maybe we need a glossary of terms to help users :) Or we should try & explain the terms with the abbreviation in brackets for newer users.
    We are always pleased to meet & help users, I am sure that Jooske is very pleased to see another lady in the TDS family.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.