Defensewall Question.

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by nikanthpromod, Dec 18, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. nikanthpromod

nikanthpromod Registered Member

Im new to defensewall . From the DW help file
    http://www.softsphere.com/online-help/defensewall/
    i found this
    DefenseWall HIPS' (Host-based Intrusion Prevention) protection scheme is 'Isolation'.
    Applications and processes which interact with the internet - we call them 'threat gateways' - pose a serious risk to your system safety. Hackers use these threat gateways and applications to penetrate your computer, to infect and alter it or to damage your system integrity.
    DefenseWall marks these threat gateways and processes as 'Untrusted' and they operate in an 'isolated' environment. Any files and applications downloaded or launched through those untrusted gateways are also marked Untrusted - they cannot harm your system.

So i tried to check effectiveness of DW. I used a trojan downloader , it downloaded files without disturbing DW and infected my system.
    So wats the use of DW. Just for sanboxing browserso_O
    Do u really think its goodo_O
    How it detects and untrusts a programo_O

Last edited: Dec 18, 2009
  2. demoneye

demoneye Registered Member

this why ilya made DW3 , its include a firewall , i guess you try version 2.56 (official) ....

3. Ibrad

Ibrad Registered Member

Was the downloader set as untrusted in Defensewall?

4. nikanthpromod

im currently using DW 2.56.
    so wats the use of DW 2.56 without firewall

5. nikanthpromod

No:ouch: DW didnt notice that downloader..

6. Lebowsky

Lebowsky Registered Member

o_O
    Who told you Dwall 2.56 was a substitute for a firewall?

7. Blackcat

Blackcat Registered Member

DW by itself is a great policy-based sandbox HIPS.

If you have the standalone DW with a third-party firewall/Vista/Win 7 firewall behind a router you do not need the added firewall in DW 3.

8. nikanthpromod