defence+ (comodo) worth it?

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by wild_bill, Dec 17, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. wild_bill

wild_bill Registered Member

(not sure if this counts as firewall or av, so I'll try here).

I've been using Comodo Firewall for a few years now, and the same goes for Avast AV. They seem to work ok together so far.

But I've never been sure about Comodo's Defence+ feature. I left it disabled for years, as I thought it sounded like a waste of resources. Then one update a while back i turned it on.

But it generally just leads to lots of confusing popups every time I install new software... which often sound scary but I end up allowing most of them as it's the only way to get the software to work.

Is there a consensus on whether this kind of software (what would it be called?) is worthwhile? Is it thought to have much impact on resources? Do people generally leave it on or off?

2. 1chaoticadult

1chaoticadult Registered Member

I personally think if you are not familiar with HIPS, I wouldn't use it. It would be better off with what you have now, probably add an ondemand scanner like Hitman Pro or Malwarebytes Anti-Malware. As far as resources, I personally don't see any slowdown with it on my laptop.

3. ams963

ams963 Registered Member

yeah you'd be better off with a behavior blocker which comes integrated with any av including avast......just add what 1chaoticadult suggested plus sandboxie and a good imaging software......

4. 1chaoticadult

He could also enable the sandbox in Avast. Although I don't know how effective it is.

5. acr1965

acr1965 Registered Member

I'm not sure the behavior blocker in Avast is considered fully featured yet or not. OP what are you hoping to be protected from and what is your operating system?