Decoding captured data?

Discussion in 'other security issues & news' started by deadcat, Jul 15, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. deadcat

deadcat Registered Member

Hi all, I am new to this forum so I hope this is the correct area. I am a network administrator and I am trying to convince one of our business partners to use a site to site VPN so we can print data over the internet from their AS/400 to a network printer inside of our company. We are PIX firewalled, NAT'd etc. and right now I have them set up to print to a NAT'd addressable internet address. Unfortunately my users are requesting that multiple printers have this capability so I am burning through IP address. Our security department is saying that we need to encrypt the printed data (it is standard port 9100) because it contains member account numbers, addresses, etc. I would like to tell our business partner that a VPN is our preferred solution. Does anyone know if someone captured a print job if they could decode the data? I have captured data I sent to a network printer set up as a standard TCP/IP port on XP and the data looks encrypted but I would guess if I could set the TCP window size correctly and set up a TCP session with the printer I could replay my captured packets and print from my sniffer. What can I tell our business partner to get them to agree to work on getting a VPN set up?

Any help is greatly appreciated.

2. ronjor

ronjor Global Moderator

Have them look over this page to start with. Link

3. deadcat

deadcat Registered Member

Thanks for the link, it will be helpful when explaining VPN's to them. Do you know if I am correct in my assumption of being able to recreate the print outs from a data capture? Even though I can't read what I captured isn't it in PCL language or something like that? A VPN would actually encrypt the traffic and make it totally unreadable.

4. ronjor

ronjor Global Moderator