Dear Thief - take my laptop, pls :P

Discussion in 'privacy technology' started by korben, Jan 7, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. korben

korben Registered Member

On and off laptops get stolen, happens...
    What to install to make sure your clients data will not be retrieved by someone else than yourself.

TrueCrypt - I tried reading the tutorial and the learning curve seems pretty high; is it worthwhile to encrypt the whole partition?

SafeHouse Personal Edition/ SafeHouse Explorer Encryption - maybe this one?
    Keepass?
    PIM 3.19?
    free products are desired :)
    at a loss, any ideas for a total beginner?
    thank you in advance

Last edited: Jan 7, 2010
  2. Meriadoc

Meriadoc Registered Member

There are also 'anti theft' tracking software that also use encryption, or if it detects the laptop stolen.
    Credant Mobile Guardian enterprise at one extreme to other cheaper alternatives like xtool, Unistal, gadgettrak.

If this is for home I'd persist with truecrypt.

Last edited: Jan 7, 2010
  3. Nebulus

Nebulus Registered Member

Use Truecrypt or other similar encryption program. Encryption is the only way to protect your data if your laptop gets stolen (though if the thief gets it while it's powered on, even encryption might not help you).

4. korben

korben Registered Member

not SafeHouse ?

5. hierophant

hierophant Registered Member

Here's an evil approach. Use TrueCrypt full disk encryption, with the hidden partition plus "dummy OS" option. In the dummy OS startup list, include a script that quietly concatenates random bytes until the disk is 90% full, trashing the hidden partition. One could also include a private "tame" botnet in the dummy OS, just for spite. Even if it were detected, one could plausibly plead ignorance, given that so many computers have been compromised by botnets.

6. dantz

dantz Registered Member