Create Image on Second Hard Drive (d:)?

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by Pastork, Sep 22, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Pastork

Pastork Registered Member

I am a total newbie to Acronis True Image. I have used an older version of Norton Ghost to mirror my first hard drive (c:) to my second hard drive (d:), but when I had problems on my c: drive and tried to mirror the d: drive back to c: I couldn't do so. I got a message saying there is a corrupted partition. I also cannot boot to the second hard drive.

Being sick of Norton, I downloaded the free trial of Acronis True Image 9.0. My hope is to create a full backup (image) of my first hard disk (c: drive) on my second hard disk (d: drive), but I am no altogether certain how to go about it.

When I choose to backup "the entire disk contents or individual partitions," I then select Disk 1 [identified as "NTFS (C:)]. Then, when I click next and get to "Backup Archive Location," do I just select "Local Disk (D:)" from the tree menu on the left under "My Computer?" Will this do what I want to do?

I just want to make sure. I am hesitant to do anything I am not certain of... except for one thing... get away from Norton!

Thanks for any help you can provide. I tried searching the forum for an answer, but couldn't find one. Perhaps I wasn't using the right terms.

2. starsfan09

starsfan09 Registered Member

Is this D:/ drive an Internal HD? If it is, then you shouldn't have any problems at all. I make TI Images to mine all the time. I renamed mine to "Storage" (pic below), and also formatted it to NTFS. In case you're wondering, Acronis will make just ONE file per backup session. It doesn't make multiple files like some programs do.

When you use the TI menu to choose your drives, you really need to know the model # of the drive you're selecting. TI will show you the model #'s it picks up. It helps to name your drives though, so you don't get them confused.