Corrupted Recovered Files

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by Striper, Aug 4, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Striper

Striper Registered Member

I am using Acronis 9.0 build 2,259. I am using a Maxtor One Touch external hard drive as the medium to back up on. I have been backing up for several months with no errors. Yesterday I tried to restore a file and found that it had corrupted the file. I program and my IDE gave me an error that a line of code was too long. When I scanned down the file I ran into the beginning of a string of little squares and no more valid text.

I tried deleting the back up on the external drive and did a full back up. I got the same problem with that file and when I tried other files I got similar errors. I checked with the site and saw that there was a more recent build but the web interfacem, when I go to the screen for updating tells me there are no updates.'

I also used the option to test the integrety of the back up and it said it "succeeded" after scanning it which I assume meant it was suppose to be ok.

You can imagine how upset I am about not having a reliable back up. I have sent a message to Acronis and am waiting for a response. I need to address this ASAP.

Any help would be appreciated.

2. seekforever

seekforever Registered Member

Are you trying to recover files from a Files and Folders backup or are you mounting an image and extracting a file from the image?

There was an earlier thread about problems with excessively long path names probably greater than say, 256 characters. Look at this thread to see if it has any bearing on your situation:
    https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?t=132551

3. Striper

Striper Registered Member

Thanks for your reply.
    I am a professional programmer with a number of applications I work on simultaneously. The tools I use are quite complex and doing a resinstall is a real hassle.