Cops knocking on my door @ 2:00 a.m.

Discussion in 'privacy problems' started by northoftheborder, Nov 30, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. northoftheborder

northoftheborder Registered Member

So I jump out of bed to a doorbell and the "Police". Thinking something has happened to my son I throw the door open to, "Do you have a daughter" ? NO!! I reply. Well, we received a suicide note from a 17 yr old girl and the IP address traces back to this house!!o_Oo_Oo_Oo_Oo_Oo_O

I have all my devices locked up with kasprsky, etc EXCEPT my son who downloader something that is hijacking hs browser. Could this give someone access to our network?

2. Taliscicero

Taliscicero Registered Member

Yes it could, put Kaspersky on your sons computer, nobody who is not a security expert or works in security should have a computer without the correct software in place. I am a security expert and even I myself use security software as a precaution, so you definitely should. If you want to be really thorough you can always call your local computer repair guy and explain the problem and he may well be able to run scans and check things you can't for this specific problem, if you live in an apartment building or scratch that you should change your network routers login and password as the IP could have come from someone getting unauthorized access to your modem or wi-fi router. I would say security software and change wi-fi router password is your best bet for stopping the problem. You don't need anything else despite what people may tell you, you can also look up your ISP and ask to change your IP address if you wish to be very through, which is easy if you explain your problem.

3. guest

guest Guest