Continuous Traffic

Discussion in 'LnS English Forum' started by idbit, Feb 25, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. idbit

idbit Registered Member

Hi, I'm new to LNS. I'm looking at my log. There's some continuous outgoing traffic that I'm wondering about. It occurs about once per second. Here's the two line entries I'm seeing over and over again:

02-25-10,08:14:36 U-1 'Block : All other packet' 192.168.2.255 UDP Ports Dest:netbios-ns=137 Src:netbios-ns=137

02-25-10,08:14:36 U-0 'Block : All other packet' 192.168.2.255 UDP Ports Dest:netbios-dgm=138 Src:netbios-dgm=138

I'm using a Belkin router. Also using Phantom's ruleset. Should I be concerned about this traffic? Is there a way that I can stop this traffic?

Thanks!
    IB

2. Thomas M

Thomas M Registered Member

Hello idbit,

1.) You are behind a router, correct?
    2.) These logged packets are inbound traffic, correct?

If you answer 2 times "yes", then everything is fine.
    The traffic is coming most likely from another computer within your local network. And since it is inbound, you have nothing to worry about.

In general, all inbound blocked packets are nothing to worry about. It just tells you that your LNS is perfectly doing its job!

Thomas :)

3. Frederic

Frederic LnS Developer

To avoid these alerts, you can create some specific rules to block the packets silently. You can do that with a right click on the alert in the log, and then select the Stop Sign for the automatically added rule (by default when you create a rule that way, the packets are allowed).

Regards,

Frederic.

4. Seer

Seer Registered Member

These are NetBIOS broadcasts. If you're interested, you can read up here. A concise and not overlong read.

It's local traffic over non-routable addresses. So it's a non-concern if you are on a trusted or no-LAN.

1.) Belkin router's mentioned in the OP.
    2.) No. These are outbound packets, as the OP correctly assumed.