Considering switching to a free solution after subscription expires

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by JohnnyDollar, Jun 21, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. JohnnyDollar

JohnnyDollar Guest

Hello everyone. I have been using Nod32 for a couple of years and I really like it. Nod has picked up a few trojans when I was downloading torrents in the past, but I new what I was getting into and would use virtualization when experimenting with risky downloads. Nowadays I don't ever pick anything up. I use firefox with WOT and practice safe surfing habits and only download from reputable sites. I do scans with Nod weekly. I use MBAM and SAS for on demand regular scans. I never find anything. I have drive image software and regularly do image backups. If I was to get a bad infection that I could not clean, then I would restore from an image. I guess the point that I am making is I am starting to feel that I am spending money on a good commercial av product that I don't need to. Nothing against NOD, but I think that when my subscription expires I may just go with Avast or Avira, or Microsofts upcoming free AV, and I beleive that I will still be able to keep my pc clean. Anybody have any thoughts about the subject?

2. gery

gery Registered Member

Actually you said it all. That is all you need.You will only miss premium support from the vendor you use but that is not a big deal.
    good luck

3. JohnnyDollar

JohnnyDollar Guest

I suppose I answered my own question didn't I? I have learned that the best PC protection starts with the user. The more informed that I have become over the years about malware in general and the tactics that are sometimes used by it's authors and suspicious websites, along with using common sense has done more to protect me from infection than anything else.

4. gery

gery Registered Member

yap well said

5. Osaban

Osaban Registered Member