Confused on Restoring

Discussion in 'Paragon Drive Backup Product Line' started by JosephB, Aug 10, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. JosephB

JosephB Registered Member

Hope someone can help me with this ....

I am still a novice, in using DB10 Pro. I am now comfortable creating Backup Images and so I was proceeding next to try Restoring for the first time, but I am confused and reading the Paragon manual/help confused me further.

I created a Backup Image of only my System Partition and then proceeded to use the Restore Wizard:

1. I selected my Backup Archive which only contains a single partition image/object - my System Partition.

2. The next screen that appeared to my surprise was titled "Which folders and files to restore". I cancelled out of this screen, since I want to perform a Sector Level - Restore of the entire System Partition Backup Archive.

Question:
    .... So, why did this happen ? ... How do I use the Restore Wizrad to do a Sector Level - Restore of my System Partiton - Backup Archive, instead of just peforming a Folder/File Level Restore ?

P.S. Checking the manual documentation, does *not* clarify why this happens and does not show this screen appearing in the example of "System Partition Restore". As a matter of fact, the manual implies (at least to me) with its screenshots that a screen titled "What to Restore" is suppose to appear, but it does *not* appear for me in my description above !

Last edited: Aug 10, 2010
  2. Paragon_MattK

Paragon_MattK Paragon Moderator

JosephB,

This is normal behavior.

To restore the entire partition, do not select any partition or files to restore, simply hit next.

Selecting any file will cause the software to create a new partition of the same size and perform a file level restore, restoring only the files you have selected.

3. JosephB

JosephB Registered Member

Paragon_Matt.

Oh, .... Now, I understand ! ....A big thanks