Configuring Outpost Firewall

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by cipsor, Dec 2, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. cipsor

cipsor Registered Member

Hi Guys,
    I am not a techie, but I would like some control (and power- I feel like in a political campaign now) over my laptop. I have Outpost and my computer is hyperventilating since it is installed. My AV is Avast Pro, I have WinPatrol And Chameleon Task Manager as well as OO Clever Cache installed. Any suggestions on how to manage my Anti-Leak Control and System Guard options so everything goes smoothly? Are there any other settings I should take into consideration?
    Thank you.

2. kronckew

kronckew Registered Member

hi cipsor,

to get started, more info will help.

what version of outpost? is it the firewall only or the suite?

what version of windows?

how much memory do you have?

3. cipsor

cipsor Registered Member

Hi kronckew,
    I have Windows 7 x 64, and 4 gb of Ram. I am using Outpost Pro and my version is 8.1.2.
    Thank you for your help

4. trott3r

trott3r Registered Member

Have you been running it on auto learn for a couple of days?

That will cut requests down a bit as outpost learns your system.

5. Sm3K3R

Sm3K3R Registered Member

Let it autolearn for 2 hours or so ,give the machine 3-4 restart until the antileak stuff sets itself to allow all control panels to work and defragmenting to be able to work ,then disable the auto rule mechanism in all aspects ,set the Enterteinment policy to Block Most from the Allow Most.
    Set the Svchost ruleset so nothing that you are not using is allowed ,disable the rawsocket access allowed by default and generally block anything from connecting outside from the main OS exes except svchost and the stuff that checks the license.
    Explorer does not need internet ,neither lssas and so on.The more you let out the better the risks.
    Take a look at the other networking rules not related to applications as well.