Conf of Comodo (for DNS request for example)

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by gagman, Oct 16, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. gagman

gagman Registered Member

I posted the following in the Comodo forums :
    --------------------
    Hello,

I'm pretty new in the Comodo world (but quite oldie in firewall word).

I'm not sure to understand the application vs network rules interaction.

Let's say for example I want to authorize all out UDP 53 paquet (makes sense !).
    But I don't want to do it per application, for sure.

If I create a network rule with those parameters, it is not enough, I need to create an application rule as well.
    That's a bit strange, I would like to have a "any application" parameter in the application rule definition.

Please advise how to create this kind of configuration with Comodo ?

Thanks.
    --------------------

Then I had some answers, then my post has been switched as a FAQ (with the removal of all the answers but the last one, not very nice !!).
    http://forums.comodo.com/index.php/topic,3201.0.html

So what I understand of the configuration of Comodo is there is precedence of application rules or network rules, depending of the inbound or outbound way.
    But both rules (appli or network) are used to determine if the packed is allowed or not.

So for example, you need to authorize all applications to perform a DNS request, even if you have authorized port53 outbound.
    OK, why not, it's better in term of security.

But if you want to create a trusted network to communicate with your machine... you need to create rules per application too.
    That sounds amazing to me ! No matter the level of security you want, if you need to create a trusted network, you don't want to be annoyed by some other stuff regarding application level.