complete Acronis beginner needs help

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by armstrong, Aug 16, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. armstrong

armstrong Registered Member

I have just installed TI and would appreciate some guidance in terms suitable for an absolute beginner. I have several questions:

1. This is not a new computer, the hard disk is not partitioned and already contains a mixture of stuff. I’d like to keep the os and installed apps in one partition and data in another, but will I be able to move it around if I create a partition?
    2. Although I have not partitioned the drive, Acronis shows a second drive, which has no letter assigned. It is shown as follows:

FAT 16 Flags: Pri Capacity: 39.19MB Used space: 6.73MB Type: PS:FAT16 Partition: Oxdde (EISA configuration).

What is this for and can I use/access it? NB the C drive is listed as PriAct

3. Lastly – for now! – I’d be very grateful if someone could talk me through how to create a partition. The MS instructions offer too many confusing choices for a novice.

Specs: Dell Dimension 8300, XP SP1 (upgrading to SP2 made the cpu run constantly at 100%, but I’ll have another try before October). The C drive file system is NTFS, capacity is 111GB of which 75.7GB is unused.

2. Dina

Dina Registered Member

You should use acronis disk director suite for partitioning. You can create, delete, edit partitions without losing the data. Its easy to use.

Cant answer the TI question though.

Cheers

Dina

3. Texcritter

Texcritter Registered Member

3. Lastly – for now! – I’d be very grateful if someone could talk me through how to create a partition. The MS instructions offer too many confusing choices for a novice.

Check this link (illustrated instructions)

https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?t=29880

4. Menorcaman

Menorcaman Retired Moderator

Hello armstrong,