Comodo Time machine? (Win8)

Discussion in 'sandboxing & virtualization' started by Durad, Jan 31, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Durad

    Durad Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2005
    Posts:
    578
    Location:
    Canada
    Is Comodo Time Machine project still alive?

    Does it works with Windows 8? Are they planing to support it?
     
  2. pratzert

    pratzert Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    Posts:
    211
    I think any further development on it was stopped, but I'm not positive.
     
  3. Solarlynx

    Solarlynx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2011
    Posts:
    1,622
    Comodo didn't say that the development of CTM 3.0 is cancelled. Though no any news on its continuation.
     
  4. pratzert

    pratzert Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    Posts:
    211
    Yes.. that's true... but they have not done anything with it in more than a year... maybe even two years.

    Makes me believe it's been abandoned.

    I thought the program held promise, and I used it on one of my laptops with no problem.
     
  5. Solarlynx

    Solarlynx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2011
    Posts:
    1,622
    I use CTM 2.8 on one my old comp without problems and had to use Eaz-Fix on 2 new laptops as CTM didn't work there without problems.
     
  6. andyman35

    andyman35 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2007
    Posts:
    2,334
    The last I heard was that,although CTM 3 is on the back-burner due to other priorities,it hasn't been abandoned.Only time will tell though.
     
  7. Boost

    Boost Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2007
    Posts:
    1,291
    Who knows?

    I've used CTM on my XP PC for a few years now with no issues.To be honest,I'm not even worried about windows 8.
    My next upgrade with be windows 7 :D
     
  8. Kees1958

    Kees1958 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2006
    Posts:
    5,857
    Sysrestore is a new entrant on this software segment
     
  9. CyberMan969

    CyberMan969 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2011
    Posts:
    589
    When rolling back with SysRestore all subsequent snapshots are lost. No back and forth functionality makes it useless for me.
     
  10. Solarlynx

    Solarlynx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2011
    Posts:
    1,622
    this entrant is still in baby stage
     
  11. The Red Moon

    The Red Moon Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2012
    Posts:
    3,526
    Location:
    Lincolnshire,England.
    I think version 2.8 of comodo time machine is the safest version.It was causing some users problems upon uninstalling with other versions.
     
  12. CyberMan969

    CyberMan969 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2011
    Posts:
    589
    Me too, 2.8 worked great for me for a long time. I only abandoned it when I moved on to SSDs.

    I always have boot sector backups made before and after installing anything that adds stuff to the boot sector (CTM, RX etc). It has proven very useful for cases where uninstallation has corrupted the boot sector and Windows won't boot. Instead of repairing the sector I just fire up my Acronis boot stick and restore the boot sector from a pre-RX pre-CTM backup - and in one second Windows is bootable again.
     
  13. Solarlynx

    Solarlynx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2011
    Posts:
    1,622
    Installing/uninstalling a snapshot time machine is a risky undertaking. You should have imaging backup of your protected partitions (including system reserved sectors/partions like MBR and other stuff) in case something goes wrong. Though I have never had disastrous results for CTM 2.8/2.9, Rollback/EazFix 9.1, Sysrestore 3.4.
     
  14. The Red Moon

    The Red Moon Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2012
    Posts:
    3,526
    Location:
    Lincolnshire,England.
    Actually rather than attempting to uninstall CTM i would just use a earlier image,that would be a safer option.Long time since i used it and its very good at what it does.
    At the comodo forum the developer has said he has one project to finish then CTM is under development again.
     
  15. Solarlynx

    Solarlynx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2011
    Posts:
    1,622
    It was said about half a year ago. And there was no further news.
     
  16. Kees1958

    Kees1958 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2006
    Posts:
    5,857
    So take f.i. snapshot time line A, B, C, D with E being the current situation.
    When rolling back to B you also lose snapshots C and D?
     
  17. Solarlynx

    Solarlynx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2011
    Posts:
    1,622
    Yep, in this current version Sysrestore 3.4, after rolling back to B you have only A and B. C and D are lost.
     
  18. yesnoo

    yesnoo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2011
    Posts:
    1,359
    Previously when I tested Sysrestore, restore during boot didn't gave me the option to select snapshot & automatically restored & if I remember correctly it automatically restored to the first screenshot i.e the base or the first snapshot it automatically created when it was installed.

    Any info on this plzz?


    Anyone using CTM 2.8 stable on Win 7 64? How is it running? Any probs faced? I am thinking of installing CTM 2.8 on Win 7 64, what you guys suggest?
     
  19. Solarlynx

    Solarlynx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2011
    Posts:
    1,622
    I vaguely remember something like that.

    I tried to install CTM 2.8/2.9 on 2 comps with Win 7 32 and 1 comp with Win 7 64. On 2 comps they worked very poorly (Win 7 32). So I had to switch to Rx 9.1.

    And on 1 comp (Win 7 64) I could install only CTM 2.9 to protect the system partition C but it protected the data partition D! - I tried it twice and the same switch to D!
     
  20. yesnoo

    yesnoo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2011
    Posts:
    1,359
    About sysrestore I meant was when I tried restore through boot i.e during boot ctrl + R

    About CTM any prob you faced uninstalling
     
  21. Solarlynx

    Solarlynx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2011
    Posts:
    1,622
    Never tried this with Sysrestore.

    I was fortunate not to face any prob when uninstalling CTM.
     
  22. littleturle

    littleturle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2012
    Posts:
    102
    Location:
    US
    Toolwiz just released a Toolwiz Time Machine, I am trying on my XP 32bit.
     
  23. CyberMan969

    CyberMan969 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2011
    Posts:
    589
    This one still has the same limited snapshot functionality like SysRestore: When you restore an older snapshot all subsequent snapshots will be gone. No back and forth functionality makes it no good to me.
     
  24. Technical

    Technical Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2003
    Posts:
    471
    Location:
    Brazil
    Regardless what they say, it's an abandonware.
    More than two years and all the times we listen that there are other priorities.
    It's hard to face, but I've lost the faith in its development.
    I have personally contributed with almost the only one translation of CTM.
     
  25. Solarlynx

    Solarlynx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2011
    Posts:
    1,622
    AFAIK there's no decent free snapshot time machine. IMHO Comodo would get more benefits in promulgating its brand if it undertook to develop CTM 3 instead of working on CD, CID (though personally, I like them) and other not very good utilities (CPM, CSU).
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.