Comodo Firewall

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by h4mza, Jul 30, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. h4mza

h4mza Registered Member

I need the basic set up for Comodo since i have never used it before and its really annoying whenever i do something

2. Cudni

Cudni Global Moderator

3. pegr

pegr Registered Member

If you only want basic firewall functionality and aren't bothered about the ability of the firewall to pass leak tests, when prompted to choose a firewall security level during the initial installation, you could select the first option: "Firewall Only - This option is for people who only need enterprise strength network firewall", which will permanently disable Defense+. (If you've already installed the firewall with D+ enabled, D+ can be permanently disabled via the D+ settings screen.)

With D+ disabled, the only alerts you would get are firewall alerts when an unknown application tries to make an outbound Internet connection. If you do require the firewall to pass leak tests though, D+ needs to be enabled in which you case you will have to be prepared to respond to HIPS alerts.

Another option is to enable D+ but uncheck most or all of the D+ Monitoring Settings while leaving Image Execution Control enabled. That would substantially reduce the number of HIPS alerts while still retaining the benefit of the default deny protection offered by the anti-execute feature.

4. tobacco

tobacco Frequent Poster

Anyone else having issues when running portable appso_O ?

I keep getting popups from both the firewall and D+ everytime i run a portable application. I'll set rules, even run it in learning mode and still get the same popups time and time again. Not regular installed programs - only portable apps.

5. blacknight

blacknight Registered Member

Never had this issue.

6. JoeBlack40

JoeBlack40 Registered Member

Rarely,with 2 app.Put them in computer security policy as Installers or Updaters and the problems are gone.