Cloning Questions

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by NCguy, May 9, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. NCguy

NCguy Registered Member

I've got a lot of questions about the hard drive cloning process since I haven't yet used the product and I'm a novice in this area. I'll try not to get to long winded. I just installed the trial product. If I need to activate it to accomplish my goal so be it.

Here is my goal. I have a vista ultimate machine with a 300gb drive and 3 partitions - the OS and two data partitions. I want to clone the drive, making some adjustment to partition sizes, to a newer 500 gb drive with the same partitions. The new will replace the old, same cable position. I've read the applicable manual pages. It makes it sound like a very straightforward process. But here are my concerns:

1. I cant afford to have anything changed on the original drive. When I'm done the original needs to be absolutely unaltered including drive letters, active partition, MBR etc. Everything needs to stay exactly the way it was in case the clone doesn't turn out like expected. I can't afford a lot of unplanned downtime and (worst case) a wipe and rebuild would take forever on this one.
    2. So if I want the drive letters to stay constant on the original and clone do I need to do this from the boot CD? The manual didn't mention this as a requirement.
    3. How about the active partition? Will the software actually allow the clone to have an active partition while retaining the active partition status on the original drive as well? I'm assuming I'll need to disconnect the original drive after power off on the first reboot?
    4. Any issues regarding the MBR's, boot loaders, other boot files etc?
    5. Any other considerations?

2. DwnNdrty

DwnNdrty Registered Member