Cleaning the Register

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by toploader, Aug 23, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. toploader

toploader Registered Member

Cleaning the Registry

as someone who is a total novice in this area i would appreciate some help on this.

my machine is still relatively new but already i've had spybot delete another program before i had a chance to uninstall it and it still comes up with references to remnants. also i've installed and uninstalled quite a few other programs, so i'm wondering how much junk i'm accumulating.

the question is Does it matter? if i just leave the registry to it's own devices will the only problem i have with junk accumulation be a slight degrading of performance?

will a reg cleaner detect entries put there by spyware and trojans? and do spyware and trojans put entries in the registry - if so why? - don't they want to run anonymously?

if the registry is corrupted by a registry cleaner can it crash windows requiring a reinstallation of XP?

for now i'm leaving it well alone but all feedback most welcome on this sensitive issue.

Last edited: Aug 23, 2005
  2. tm6527

tm6527 Registered Member

Registry cleaners won't clean everything. From the task bar, go Run > type 'regedit.'

Now see these areas:
    HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\[Removed Program]
    HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\[Removed Program]

Maybe you'll see folders for old programs. Right now I see, Blizzard Entertainment, in one of these, viewpoint, America Online, Apple Computer Inc., all which I deleted. There's also a bunch of stuff I'm using and others I don't recognize. o_O

Keep using registry cleaners. It's easier.

3. toploader

thanks tm - there's a lot of stuff to check thru in that there registry - as long as the machine's working ok i think i will leave it. :D

4. Ailric

Ailric Guest

Probably. You may also receive system errors.

No, a reg cleaner cannot identify good and bad entries.