Clean uninstall TI v9.0 before installing v10.0?

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by LeeMit, Dec 23, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. LeeMit

LeeMit Registered Member

I hope to uninstall TI v9.0 and then install the upgrade to v10.0. But I have read several threads in this forum that tell horror stories about Registry or other problems.

Is it sufficient for a clean uninstall of v9.0 to just use Control Panel>Add-Delete? And just go from there to installing v10.0?

If not, what else should I do? Please give me step-by-step. I am a beginner and I DO NOT KNOW how to edit my Registry. I am afraid to touch the Registry.

Maybe I should just keep using the v9.0 I have, and forget about upgrading to v10.0. [And ask Acronis to refund the fee I paid to download the .exe file for installing the v10.0?] What do you think?

2. Blackcat

Blackcat Registered Member

If ATI 9 is working fine, why upgrade yet? Does the new version recognise your hardware?
    Even after uninstalling via the Control panel, registry debris is left. Rather than manually editing the Registry, use a trial version of a good Registry Cleaner, such as RegSupreme. . But don't forget to take a backup of the Registry when it asks ;)
    The new version is still buggy but if it has extra features that you need and it works on your system then it maybe worth upgrading. Your call.

3. LeeMit

LeeMit Registered Member

Blackcat: Thank you much for your reply and advice. I think I will follow it! Wish Acronis would make a "clean uninstall" program to download and run to accopmplish a full and clean unininstall for TI9 and other versions!! I am really afraid to mess around with and edit Registry.

4. Blackcat

Blackcat Registered Member

Unfortunately, a lot of software, apart from Acronis, do not uninstall cleanly. But as mentioned before there are automatic, safe Registry cleaners you can use rather than manually editing the registry.