Clarification on "Cloning" with True Image

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by zigboo, Aug 18, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. zigboo

zigboo Registered Member

Hi folks,

I'm new to True Image, and have what's probably a silly question, but here goes...

I've just added a new HD to my system, and want to do some experimentation with configuration changes and adding some software that has, in the past, caused coruption on my system before the new disk becomes the storage disk it's intended to be. I was assuming I could use TI cloning to simply copy my existing system drive onto the new disk, and be left with two "same" disks, and that either of them could be used as my boot disk depending on the boot order I set in the BIOS. However, everything I read in the manual, and the notes on the screen as I start the process, use the word "move" rather than "copy" when referring to the data on the original disk. The "auto" option also indicates that I have to remove the original hard disk once the data "moving" is compelete (says this in the description when you select "auto"). So, I'm a little confused. I guess my real question is, if I use the manual clone method and tell it to "keep data" on the old disk, will the original disk be left completely un-altered, and will I end up with two hard drives that can be used as the primary boot disk at will, depending on the boot order set in BIOS? Most importantly, is there any reason why the original disk cannot continue to play it's role as the primary or even only drive in the system? this is important since it will continue to be the primary disk, and the whole exercise here is to use the new disk as a crash test dummy before putting it to use as a storage drive.

Thanks,
    Brian

2. rdgrimes

rdgrimes Registered Member

You can acomplish the same thing just by imaging your current system drive and saving that to revert back to.