Clarification about Secure Zone

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by rodrimf, Apr 16, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. rodrimf

rodrimf Registered Member

I am new to True Image. I have a Dell laptop with 2 HDDs. Ine fixed internal 40GB and one swappable 40GB (sharing the same bay with the DVD/CD unit). My main drive is 75% full, I can spare most of the space of the 2nd drive. I want to have an easy and fast way to recover al my OS, programs settings, e-mail, and documents in case I loose my internal drive. both drives have 1 single NTFS partition (the 1st one also has the EISA config partition).
    I am testing TI to do that, so I decided that a full "My PC" backup was the way to go and I made space available in the second drive (D:). It took 20 minutes or so to do the backup. Then reading some of the documentation, I understood that the secure zone SZ was required to recover and to enable recovery manager. So I decided to delete the backup I did earlier to release space, and I created a 31 GB SZ on the second drive. I noticed the SZ is created using FAT32, not NTFS. I started again a full MY PC backup to the SZ, but now it took 4 hours!!!
    Can somebody explain me:
    1- Is SZ really needed to recover the image(s) full+ incremental even if my first hard drive crashes and I get a brand new replacement one?
    2- If it is required, any explanation why my 1st backup to NTFS partition took only 20 minutes while the second one to the SZ took 4 hours? !!!: thumbd:
    3- If it is not required what is the best recommended practice for what I want to accomplish and what is the SZ for? The documentation does not provide lots of details about SZ and what is best.
    4- I also read some threads in which people say that SZ should be in the primary drive... Does not make sense, I want to protect against hard disk crash or data lost in my main drive due to any failure in that drive. AM I missing something?

Thanks