Chrome Portable questions

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by roark37, Feb 26, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. roark37

roark37 Registered Member

Hi, I am very new to using portable applications and want to try Chrome Portable. I would probably be running it from a usb drive and if I did I want to know if the Google updater comes with portable chrome and if so would it update even from usb? Also if running portable Chrome off usb can you add extensions for it and and if so do all those completely remain on usb so your pc is untouched?

I have tried portable Firefox so far and it seems to run well from usb, From what I can tell it seems that everything has remained on the usb but am not sure if Chrome would be the same. Firefox portable has run well for me from usb and I don't really notice it much or any slower browsing than regular installed version. Is Chrome portable likely to be the same?

Thanks.

2. 93036

93036 Registered Member

Not sure...but why not use Comodo Dragon? Same platform, with built-in DNS [I think].

3. WSFuser

WSFuser Registered Member

Yes extensions work fine with Chrome Portable. As for updating, there is no Google updater. You can either download new versions and install, or if you also have the PortableApps.com Platform, you can use it to check for updates to your portable apps.

4. blinking_spirit

blinking_spirit Registered Member

Not adding much here, but I have been using it for a number of months (on the PortableApps platform) and it's been working great. In terms of extensions I have Lastpass (the portable version) and Ad-block Plus.

The only "downside" is third-party extensions that sometimes need to be allowed frequently (such as IDM or Norton Identity Protect).

5. roark37