can't find java on computer

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by resa05, Apr 12, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. resa05

    resa05 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Posts:
    115
    I know I have Java on my computer. However when I look under Add/Remove Programs, it doesn't show up in that list. When I use Search under the Start Menu and search in All Files and Folders it appears. I am haveing a problem with my Java, I don't know if I need a special type of Java or not or if I have the wrong 'one' installed or not. When I go to www.pogo.com and play games that are supported by Java, that Java Applet window freezes and locks up. I'm unable to click on anything on that Java running applet. Does anyone know whats causeing this? If so can you help me? Thank You All Very Much!!!....

    Xp SP2, AVG FREE...i have Java (TM) Platform
    Sincerely,
    Resa :)
     
    Last edited: Apr 13, 2005
  2. bigc73542

    bigc73542 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Posts:
    23,791
    Location:
    SW. Oklahoma
    You can check your java at. click start/run/type regedit in box/ click ok and then click local machine/software/ and look for, see screen shot
     

    Attached Files:

  3. resa05

    resa05 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Posts:
    115
    did not see a anything called "screen shot" ...pls reply back...ty
     
  4. bigc73542

    bigc73542 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Posts:
    23,791
    Location:
    SW. Oklahoma
    this is the screen shot of what to look for in the registry at the location I posted above. At least you will see if you do have the java plugin
     

    Attached Files:

  5. resa05

    resa05 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Posts:
    115
    i dont see anything that says java plugin
     
  6. bigc73542

    bigc73542 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Posts:
    23,791
    Location:
    SW. Oklahoma
    You might just be better off to reinstall java from here use the offline installation.
     
  7. resa05

    resa05 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Posts:
    115
    sorry thats not working for me...

    Thanks anyways :)
     
  8. resa05

    resa05 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Posts:
    115
    What do I do now since I downloaded Java from Java.com? It seems like Java is still acting the same way as far as running very slowly...

    I have removed the java platform manual installation, and i'm still haveing the same problem before i downloaded it, and had more after i downloaded it. That is why I removed it so soon from my PC. PLEASE SOMEONE HELP ME...IM BEGGING HERE..
    THANK YOU ALL SO SO SO MUCH :)
     
    Last edited: Apr 13, 2005
  9. Marja

    Marja Honestly, I'm not a bot!!

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2004
    Posts:
    4,553
    Location:
    In the Vast Fields of My Mind
    I always have a problem with java too. Freezing, kicking me completely off line, or just not showing up, is there something we should be looking for, other than the updates? Does it take alot of RAM (512mb), it seems to slow to a crawl or freeze, when I click on some java applets it kicks me clean offline? Does some security programs effect it?
    Maybe we have the same problem?

    Thanks for any advice or info!

    Marja:cool:
     
    Last edited: Apr 13, 2005
  10. resa05

    resa05 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Posts:
    115
    Maria, I don't know a lick about Ram because i have 192 Ram ...(if that helps anyone help me) My windows are opening and working, but once they are opened and the game begins it starts slowing down my computer and making my Internet Explorer run alot more slowly!
    Thanks
     
  11. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    53,591
    Location:
    Texas
  12. resa05

    resa05 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Posts:
    115
    If I have already downloaded Sun Java without removing Micr. Java is that ok...If so far I feel like Java is running smoothly?
     
  13. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    53,591
    Location:
    Texas
    From the link:

    As of this writing Microsoft no longer supports the MS JVM and it has become obsolete. There have also been known security issues with un patched version of the MS JVM we advise that you remove it and install the safer SUN JVM as an alternative. If you have Windows XP SP1a installed on your computer, then you do not have the MS JVM installed on your machine.
     
  14. resa05

    resa05 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Posts:
    115
    i have xp SP2....since I need to remove MS JVM, would you please send me directions on how to remove and then reinstall what is needed?

    Thanks a Million.
     
  15. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    53,591
    Location:
    Texas
  16. resa05

    resa05 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Posts:
    115
    I was just reading other forums on SP2 and wanted to know before I make any other downloads or whatever do I need to reconsider haveing SP2? Or is it non-removeable?
     
  17. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    53,591
    Location:
    Texas
    Before we get too far along here, you need to make sure that Windows is activated. Otherwise, we are wasting time.
    You can install SP2 and uninstall it from the control panel if you desire.
    I installed SP2 last August and haven't had any problems. Some people have.

    Do you have MS Java installed as referred to in the link?
     
    Last edited: Apr 13, 2005
  18. resa05

    resa05 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Posts:
    115
    Yes, I have Java Installed as referred to in the link. I can't activate windows however until the "guy" comes back into town. He said it would be another wk an da half or more....I still haven't removed MVM because I still havne't figured it out.
     
    Last edited: Apr 13, 2005
  19. TomS

    TomS Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2005
    Posts:
    8
    I have the same problem with Pogo, only it completly shuts down my browser. I have tried it using Mozilla Firefox and IE, no difference. I have sun java with configured automatic updates, so I have the latest. I don't know about microsoft java, I will check it out, but sure getting tired of getting kicked out of Pogo.

    I am running window XP Home SP2 :oops:

    Tom
     
  20. resa05

    resa05 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Posts:
    115
    I did a few configurations under the control panel for my java and it seems to be working just fine now..Thank You all much :)
     
  21. resa05

    resa05 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Posts:
    115
    .....it seems that site didn't help me find the answer on how to remove microsoft virtual machine....and im haveing problems with sun java again...its not showing the very tip of the bottom on some applets which is important for some games...what now? ....thank you all very much if i ever do forget to say thanks a mil :)
     
  22. Phant0m

    Phant0m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2003
    Posts:
    3,493
    Location:
    Canada
    There is some problems using Sun JRE with some applet games, for instance http://www.fluxgfx.com/ssc/showthread.php?t=28

    You might want to contact Sun Java developers and get them to try Sun JRE on a couple of applet games, there are problems needing to be fixed.
     
  23. resa05

    resa05 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Posts:
    115
    i was curious to know that why doesn't my picture look more like the one you have there in that screen shot? and i don't just have where it says
    ...underneath java updates it says java web start i click on the plus sign and it has a bunch of folders with numbers by them lol i know this sounds ridiculous but im curious to know if its right since my java is now completely not working? im also curious to know if i should remove java and reinstall...and if i do that which one...manual or offline installation?
     
    Last edited: Apr 17, 2005
  24. resa05

    resa05 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Posts:
    115
    i tried..uninstalling java and reinstalling it and the applet window that i open to play dominoes in...well a little strip at the bottom...i cant see because of the 'little tan strip' at the bottom of the window (the strip that reads 'done' and at the bottom right it says 'internet' well that little strip right there...(if you know what im talking about). covers a little strip of the java applet off to where i cant see that chat 'send' button and the little space to type and talk i cant see it to click it....i hope that makes sense for ya'll!!!
     
  25. resa05

    resa05 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Posts:
    115
    also i just realized i have two java icons (identical) in my task bar next totthe timeo_O
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.