Can't create schedule

Discussion in 'FirstDefense-ISR Forum' started by DVD+R, Nov 29, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. DVD+R

    DVD+R Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2006
    Posts:
    1,945
    Location:
    The Antipodes
    My friend has FD-ISR on his work system, it installed fine, but when he goes to create a daily backup schedule it says something like Incorrect user name or wrong password, and the schedule is not created. This is on a Windows XP system, I myself are not on XP so i cant remember if you have to be administrator, or how you go about creating a schedule with XP without the username/password error.

    Can anyone enlighten me, so I can pass the info on to him ;) thanks in advance
     
  2. pandlouk

    pandlouk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2007
    Posts:
    2,396
    Hi DVD+R,

    It is a common problem for all windows versions from XP SP2 and higher.
    source http://www.softwaretipsandtricks.com/windowsxp/articles/573/1/Windows-XP-FAQ-S

    Panagiotis
     
  3. DVD+R

    DVD+R Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2006
    Posts:
    1,945
    Location:
    The Antipodes
    Thanks, much appreciated :)
     
  4. mrduke

    mrduke Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2007
    Posts:
    9
    I'm running Windows 7 Ultimate and get the same error when trying to create a schedule. I do not require a system logon and password. I have tried the solution mentioned above, but still have the same problem. Will I have to create a system password for this to work.

    Thanks,
    Duke
     
  5. pandlouk

    pandlouk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2007
    Posts:
    2,396
    Hi, if you disabled "Limit local account use of blank passwords to console logon only" it should work.

    Panagiotis
     
  6. mrduke

    mrduke Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2007
    Posts:
    9
    Hi again,

    Thanks for the reply, but it still isn't working. I rebooted, checked the setting, and it is still disabled. Is it possible that since I don't require a password to log on that is the problem? Or am I still missing something?

    Duke
     
  7. mrduke

    mrduke Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2007
    Posts:
    9
    Problem workaround.

    I was unable to get the problem solved with the previous solution, so I worked around it. I created a Windows log on password, then created the schedule in FD, then deleted the password. Schedule worked and task completed.

    Thanks for your response.

    Duke
     
  8. Chamlin

    Chamlin Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2006
    Posts:
    440
    Hmmm...what are you guys scheduling? Automatically making snapshots? Why would you do that? o_O
     
  9. Karen76

    Karen76 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2007
    Posts:
    122
    Why do you think people wouldn't want to schedule snapshots? Why do you think the developer included this feature in FD-ISR if not for that purpose?
     
  10. Chamlin

    Chamlin Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2006
    Posts:
    440
    I understand it may sound like a stupid question and maybe I didn't express my confusion properly. I have only made snapshots when I knew my system was "right" and working well, or for specialized use (like I'm intending to do for "audio recording only".

    I'd be concerned that if I had FD-ISR scheduled to automatically copy/update periodically, that it might catch my system on a bad day, so to speak.

    I'm sure I am not getting something here. Can you help me see this clearly?

    Thanks...
     
  11. stapp

    stapp Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2006
    Posts:
    5,038
    Location:
    England
    I understand what you mean Chamlin as I do archive backups in the same way as you do, manually... when I know they are right, or at a specific point in time such as before the install of a big new program.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.